question re sequence render settings in FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 18th, 2009, 11:16 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Posts: 406
question re sequence render settings in FCP

From the discussion in the thread below re HDV workflow I was interested to try the option of re-rendering transitions etc in a current SD project using Prores 422 as I have been having problems with them and slow motion once put onto DVD. Does anyone now if using the prores codec on an SD project is worth it?

Also I sensed from the thread that one could choose to leave straight edited clips alone and only render altered material (transitions etc) with a different codec - but I can't find an option for this in FCP 4.5; when I change the sequence settings to Prores the entire sequence needs to be re-rendered. Am i doing something wrong?

Geoff
Geoffrey Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2009, 12:07 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoffrey Cox View Post
I can't find an option for this in FCP 4.5; when I change the sequence settings to Prores the entire sequence needs to be re-rendered. Am i doing something wrong?
You're not doing anything wrong, this is a feature new to Final Cut Studio 2 (FCP 6) and therefor not available to you.
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2009, 01:35 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
FCP 4.5 is rather old. I didn't think it even offered full support for HDV, but might be wrong there since I haven't used it for a number of years.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2009, 01:40 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Posts: 406
Thanks guys. Yeah I guessed as much. Will upgrade when I've finished this project. 4.5 doesn't recognise HDV so I've had to convert those clips beforehand. Most footage is actually SD anyway.
Geoffrey Cox is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network