Render Workflow with Motion Roundtripping at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 27th, 2009, 09:41 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 152
Render Workflow with Motion Roundtripping

I'm working on a monthly project that requires 30 individual promos to be exported out of FCP and recompressed to MPEG-2 to air off of our broadcast server. At my previous job we would cut all the weeks promos into one timeline on an Avid and export it to DBeta for airing at our uplink. However, that workflow is not possible here.

We need to post individual mpg files for each promo that airs, so we need to have 30 separate files for each week. The issue we're running into is that these promos have their text animated in a motion, which is subsequently cut into an FCP sequence. Is there any straightforward way to create a batch render of each of these clips out of FCP?

The method I've come up with for now is a straight render of the entire timeline followed by exporting each individual promo out as an uncompressed quicktime, but I'm wondering if there's a better way. I've tried sending to Compressor for export but that hangs, it also doesn't seem possible to export the promos as references either, since the sequence itself is a reference to a motion project. What I'm looking for is a process akin to After Effects render queue, where I'd be able to batch each clip and select the proper mpeg settings for our server in one fell swoop.

Suggestions are appreciated, thanks--John
John Lee
John Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 11:35 PM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 42 12' N, 72 32' W
Posts: 88
Compressor should work

Compressor could hang if you're using the motion project file in the Final Cut sequence. I've rendered out LiveType and Motion projects to find things run smoother back in Final Cut when I have a lot going on like layers, keying and filters and transitions.

You can use the same timeline in FCP, set in/out points and Export using Compressor to create different segments in one fell swoop. It takes manually changing the in and out points, sending each to Compressor and then moving the jobs all onto one tab which then gets sent to Batch Monitor.

It took me just a few minutes to cut one sequence into four different parts, combine them in Compressor and batch render them. (Worked fine, never knew I could do that so easily.) And if you set your default settings to the flavor of Mpeg that you like and the destination, each one sent to compressor will already have that set when you open it. The file names even progressed sequentially (1, 2, 3) each time I added them.
Paul E. Coleman is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network