Need help ASAP: Stuttering H2.64 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 27th, 2009, 04:05 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 388
Need help ASAP: Stuttering H2.64

I'm trying to push out a project due tomorrow. Shot on EX-1 edit in FCS. I used Compressor to process to QT H 2.64. It runs and looks pristine on my macs. When I bring it to a Windows machine,the image is fine but the audio is not in sync. Equally crappy whether I run it from a DVD or copy the QT file onto the PC's hard drive.

I updated the QT player on the windows machine without any change in the problem.

I'm stumped. The machine is capable of H2.64 as I have other, albeit smaller, clips that I've played.

Yikes!
Bob Kerner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 04:16 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Kerner View Post
I'm trying to push out a project due tomorrow. Shot on EX-1 edit in FCS. I used Compressor to process to QT H 2.64. It runs and looks pristine on my macs. When I bring it to a Windows machine,the image is fine but the audio is not in sync. Equally crappy whether I run it from a DVD or copy the QT file onto the PC's hard drive.

I updated the QT player on the windows machine without any change in the problem.

I'm stumped. The machine is capable of H2.64 as I have other, albeit smaller, clips that I've played.

Yikes!
How big is the file including dimensions and bit rate? If it runs OK on a Mac, I would venture to guess that the file is too big for that particular PC to process.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 09:55 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 65
I honestly don't have any idea what could be causing that problem, but there's a few things I might try.

The first thing to do would be to export a small clip of your video. Run that through Compressor and test it out on your different computers. That might tell you a little bit about what is causing the problem.

Secondly, if you have no issues with the first step, then try re-compressing your entire video. Maybe something just went wrong the first time around.

Good luck in delivering this for tomorrow!
Glenn Fisher is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network