Export Avid DHxHD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 31st, 2009, 07:49 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Export Avid DHxHD

I have a customer that needs QuickTime 59.94/1080i 1920x1080 Codec Avid DHxHD 220 (or 145).

Does anyone know how to get this out of Final Cut? I shot the footage on EX1 1080p 30p and have it in Final Cut. For future work with them I guess I should shoot 1080i 60i.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 08:11 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Did you install the codec?
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 08:25 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Hi Perrone,

I did not know I could install the codec. Where do I look to find it to install into FC?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 08:55 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Right here:

Answer
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 11:43 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Perrone thank you,

I will see if that solves the problem looks like it should.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 11:45 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Post back and let us know.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 11:50 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Will do I will look at it today and tomorrow and let you know my findings.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 01:48 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Perrone uploaded the codec onto my Mac Pro and it does not show up in QT, FC, XDCAM EX Clip Browser, or any other application.

Is this something that you have used?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 01:50 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
No, I don't have a Mac. Just something that is "supposed" to work. Might try asking a quick question on the Avid forum though. You can't be the first person who's done this.

-P
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 01:57 PM   #10
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
It should appear in the QT Pro codec list. At least, that's where I can see it. Don't know about FCP, but, it should see it, as well.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2009, 08:23 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
OK I seemed to have solved this problem.

If you have FC 6.0.5 and QT 7.5.5 you need to down load the following.

Avid QuickTime Codec LE 1.8

I tried 1.10 and it did not show up so after talking with a few Avid editors we found 1.8 and all seem to work fine. I will report back if there is a problem at the Avid end once they receive the footage.

Here is the link I used:
http://www.camuser.kr/zbxe/?document...&mid=avid_free
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2009, 08:40 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Thanks for the update Paul!
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2009, 09:16 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
No worry I will report back once the client has view.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 08:43 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Burning disk today to send to client since we shot for them again yesterday.

One thing to be aware of is the files converting to Avid DNxHD are 5 times the size of Final Cut QuickTime files both at full size.

The Client requested?

You are to go with DNxHD QT files. Here are your specs.
1080i/59.94 DHxHD 220 8-bit
Millions of Colors +
Color 709
Alfa: None
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2009, 09:15 AM   #15
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Paul...

DNx220 is 220mbps bitrate. By comparison, 2k images are 440mbps, so, DNx220 is about half the bitrate of 2k. I don't know what your source file bitrate is, but, 220 is a bit overkill for most sources. Not only is the file size pretty big, but, processor demands are higher, as well. Last year, I was involved with a super 16 film project. DNx175 was barely suitable for this effort. I would suspect DNx220 is a film delivery format.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network