Apple Intermediate Codec - captures each shot separately at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2009, 05:05 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Piper City, IL
Posts: 341
Apple Intermediate Codec - captures each shot separately

Just trying to figure this out. Been going on for a while but it's getting annoying.

Basically I'm used to capturing a whole DV tape and scrubbing through the whole thing. I've been using Apple Intermediate Codec to capture my HD footage now, but it splits each shot into a new clip.

It's just taking me forever to go through the footage. Anyone know if there's a way to change this?

Thanks...
Philip Gioja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2009, 03:31 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 327
I remember this being a limitation with some HDV cameras awhile back. Had something to do with not having frame-accurate deck control through Firewire....Or maybe no frame accuracy because of the MPEG-2 i, b, p frame structure. I can't remember offhand.

What model of camera are you working with? And which version of FCP?

Here's a tutorial I found that details a workflow of capturing a whole tape at a time using "HDV Basic" Firewire control. The splitting of the tapes into individual shots seems to be part of the process:

Tutorial

After you capture a whole tape, that's split into individual shots, why not just shift-select all the shots in the Bin, drag them to a new Sequence, then you can scrub through the whole tape's worth of shots on a single timeline?

In my mind, this is actually a timesaver. It's like doing a DV Start/Stop Detect on a DV tape. Or, am I misunderstanding you?
Scott Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2009, 03:46 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
I think you can uncheck "create new clip on start stop" in the log and capture window, under the same tab that has audio and video.
Why is it taking you a long time? You could capture and edit as HDV instead, and render the final edit out as AIC if that is faster for you (it is for me).
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network