Final Cut 25p to 23.98p at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2009, 05:04 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 81
Final Cut 25p to 23.98p

Does anyone know how final cut changes 25p to 23.98p? Does it just drop one of the frames or is there something more complicated going on?
James Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2009, 09:03 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
I believe frame rate changes involve frame blending.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2009, 09:04 AM   #3
Better than Halle Berry
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 435
Drops a frame I believe.

Noah
Noah Kadner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2009, 06:59 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 81
Figured it out.

I did some tests using the EX1 with individual frame advance and when footage is recorded at 1080p25, and dropped into a 1080p23.98 ProresHQ sequence, it drops frame 13 to achieve this. There is no frame blending.

If you choose conform 25p to 24p in the tools menu, it will change the media and turn frame 25 to frame 1 of the next second, making your footage that much longer. To do this, first you have to convert the footage to ProResHQ.

We have tested this and with the PDW700 also and so far we don't miss frame 13 and it looks amazing.
James Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2009, 09:22 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 785
I change 23.98p to 25p on occasion and prefer to use Cinema Tools to change the frame rate. In Cinema Tools it simply speeds it up by about 4-5% (or slows it down if you're going the other way). I found it less satisfactory using the FCP sequence itself to change the frame rate. With Cinema Tools you keep all of your frames. With FCP, it probably adds or subtracts a frame, as James indicated.

I guess it depends on which method you prefer.
David Knaggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2009, 04:09 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 81
Cinema Tools method

What about pitch? How does cinema tools deal with that?
James Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2009, 05:46 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 785
Cinema Tools makes an automatic adjustment for pitch. But it's best to experiment with both methods and go with the one you find most aesthetically pleasing.
David Knaggs is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:22 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network