Finding a clips original bin at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2009, 11:24 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 28
Finding a clips original bin

I was wondering if there is a way to tell where a clip in the timeline came from. Sometimes a project will have clips from other projects and bins. I would like to find out what bin a specific clip is in from the timeline. Thanks alot!
David McCann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2009, 12:26 PM   #2
Better than Halle Berry
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 435
Have you tried match frame?

-Noah
Noah Kadner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2009, 12:55 PM   #3
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Unfortunately this is one of the many areas of media management that falls painfully short in FCP. You can use the "Reveal in Finder" command to find out where the original file is sourced from but there's no tool or built-in search feature in FCP that tells you exactly where that file has been used or in how many projects/bins. That is left up to your own management strategies.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2009, 12:57 PM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Match frame will source the original file and bring it forward but it won't tell you in how many places in your project it lives.

Unlike Avid this is unfortunately one of the many areas of media management that falls painfully short in FCP. You can use the "Reveal in Finder" command to find out where the original file is sourced from but there's no tool or built-in search feature in FCP that tells you exactly where that file has been used or in how many projects/bins. That is left up to your own management strategies.

Last edited by Robert Lane; February 12th, 2009 at 04:17 PM.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 12:57 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
That`s bad, even Premiere has this for years. We all should feedback Apple on this.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2009, 01:34 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
I agree. This is a big failing by Apple and FCP. Maybe we'll see some big changes at NAB?

On a related subject, I enjoy marking clips as I use them, so that when I look in my browser, I can instantly see which clips I've used and which I haven't. (command+option+6 is my friend)

I also like creating Sub Clips by using (command + U) to take one long clip and reduce it into many smaller, organized clips that can each have a different name.

(can you tell I just got finished with a BIG Final Cut Pro project)
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2009, 01:50 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Posts: 1,538
It's not a cross timeline solution, but it's elemental to find all the instances of a clip in a single timeline. Just go to the browser and apply a color label to the source clip and all the timeline instances will tint to match.

As to the cross program issue, I'd NEVER use a clip in any timeline without importing a copy of it into the browser - that's just asking for trouble when you migrate or backup projects.- and besides, extra copies are just additional pointers to the capture scratch source so there's no space overhead.

If you religiously import all clips to browser bins, then a right click "reveal in finder" should be all you need to track down a clip source location no matter what project it was originally used in.

Or is there something more complex escaping my late night brain?
Bill Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2009, 04:34 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 28
I got a good solution on the apple boards. If a clip in the timeline is selected you can go to View<Reveal Master Clip. Now this works most of the time.... I found it does not work on clips that have been copied and pasted into a new timeline. For the most part I try to bring all clips I plan on using into the correct browser for the project. Unfortunately alot of the stuff I have been doing is repetitive and copy and paste is my best friend!! I am editing spots and broll footage for weekly live events, so backing up projects is not that important. Once the spot airs the event happens, then on to the next.... Thanks everyone!!!
David McCann is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network