32-bit dissolve in FCP? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2009, 11:23 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 226
32-bit dissolve in FCP?

Hey, there,

I'm a Vegas Pro 8.0 user that's going to jump to Mac soon. It's no fault of Vegas, in fact, I'm really going to miss the app, but I'm not going to punish a Mac with Windows. :D (Insert campaign to get Vegas Pro 9.0 on Mac's OS here.)

My biggest concern is the 32-bit mode on FCP. With Vegas, I can throw any file type, anything, on the timeline, have it be processed in 32-bit mode, and get some sick cross fades that seriously resemble film. Just the default dissolve, being processed 32-bit.

Is that the same in FCP? Or am I going to have to re-render every piece of HDV I bring in from my FireStore to ProRes BEFORE working with it? I like working with the compressed file type because it saves space, and I can render off the original, saving me a lot of space.

Am I making sense? And if so, is any of this possible in FCP?
__________________
Canon EOS 7D, Final Cut Studio 2
Brandon Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:46 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Just set your HDV sequence to render in ProRes. The untouched HDV footage will be left alone and you can save drive space.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2009, 12:07 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 226
That's what I surmised. Can you tell me if I can get the same results with fades in a 32-bit floating point project as I can in Vegas 8?
__________________
Canon EOS 7D, Final Cut Studio 2
Brandon Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2009, 07:54 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Your limiting factor with any edit system will be your choice of final output resolution.
Output to 8-bit 4.2.0 and thats exactly what you get.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2009, 10:00 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
You can force render supported effects and transitions (including the basic "Cross Dissolve") in 32 bit if you change the Sequence Settings > Video Processing to "Render all YUV material in high-precision YUV"
Andy Mees is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network