MXO2 Rivals at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 20th, 2009, 06:10 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE of London, England
Posts: 788
MXO2 Rivals

I'm editing on a Mac Pro and a Macbook Pro.

I need to be able to edit all sorts of footage from DVCAM/Digibeta to XDCAM HD and HDCAM using tape and tapeless workflows. My inputs are normally via firewire or file based so HDSDI input isn't so critical for me.

Output is critical as I need to be able to output and monitor any format and even to 35mm filmouts.

The MXO2 looks like the perfect solution, especially at the price.

1) Are there any rivals to consider? (The AJA I/O seems the only one but what is the advantage apart from hardware Prores)

2) Is the quality of the MXO2 outputs etc as good as other solutions from AJA etc? The price seems too good to be true!
__________________
www.mikemarriage.com
Mike Marriage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 09:43 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Marriage View Post
I need to be able to edit all sorts of footage from DVCAM/Digibeta to XDCAM HD and HDCAM using tape and tapeless workflows. My inputs are normally via firewire or file based so HDSDI input isn't so critical for me.
HD-SDI input is critical if you want to be able to capture any flavour of BETACAM (HDCAM, HDCAM SR, DigiBeta, BetaSP, etc) from a deck. Of course, outsourcing that task is always an option if your schedule allows it. Just something to keep in mind.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Marriage View Post
Output is critical as I need to be able to output and monitor any format and even to 35mm filmouts.
Well, if you are serious about the ability to "monitor any format" (other than 35mm which I will get to in a sec) then you have to go with something like the AJA Kona3 or BlackMagic DeckLink HD Extreme, both of which are PCI cards, in order to be able to monitor 2k.

None of the cards or external I/O boxes will do anything for you in regards to outputing 35mm. For that you would take your master copy (either on tape or external drive) to a post house which does the print.
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:26 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE of London, England
Posts: 788
Thanks Mike,

Yes, I can have footage captured to hard drive elsewhere if I need to, but as the MXO2 is so cheap anyway it's a nice option to have.

Not too fussed about 2K actually, so maybe not "any format" but the main SD and HD standards. Obviously filmouts would be out-sourced. I need to be able to monitor critical colour correction etc.
__________________
www.mikemarriage.com
Mike Marriage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 11:00 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Marriage View Post
Not too fussed about 2K actually, so maybe not "any format" but the main SD and HD standards. Obviously filmouts would be out-sourced. I need to be able to monitor critical colour correction etc.
I only recently realized that the MXO2 has features that allow you to calibrate an LCD TV (via HDMI) as you would a broadcast monitor, including a blue gun... very nice. As long as you don't care/need 2k monitoring or 4:4:4 colour space then either I/O should do you well; and if you don't care/need for ProRes in hardware, then I think the MXO2 will be fine.

Shane Ross has had many good things to say about the MXO2 on his blog Little Frog in High Def.
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 04:10 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE of London, England
Posts: 788
Thanks again for the link.
__________________
www.mikemarriage.com
Mike Marriage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2009, 12:18 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 299
Get the new Blackmagic SDI and an HDLink. It gives you HD SDI in and out which is all you need unless you need to grab some archival footage on something older than Betacam. At any rate most places could just make a Beta dub for you.

The whole set up is 800 bucks or so plus whatever monitor you want (remember DVI and HDMI are the same so HDTV's count) The HDLink has Blue Gun as well. Also if you plan on doing film outs the HDLink can do 1d LUTs and the Pro version can do 3D and gives you more channels of audio.

Superior choice in my opinion.
James Brill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2009, 04:57 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE of London, England
Posts: 788
Thanks James.

Great value option! Wouldn't give me as much flexibility though or work with a laptop as far as I can see..? I think I may rather spend the extra for the MXO2.
__________________
www.mikemarriage.com
Mike Marriage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2009, 06:02 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium | Europe
Posts: 441
Did you already see the new Matrox MXO2 Rack? Yummie!

Matrox MXO2 Rack
Ivan Snoeckx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2009, 06:29 AM   #9
Sponsor: Electronic Mailbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Posts: 751
The MXO2 is a great choice for you. it will run with both your laptop and tower. We've got a nice MXO2 FAQon our website, as well as some really great MXO2 bundle offers.

Videoguys Matrox MXO2 Frequently Asked Questions

Gary
__________________
Check out http://www.videoguys.com 800 323-2325 We are the video editing and live video production experts! DV InfoNet members save 5%! Use Coupon Code DVINFO5OFF
Gary Bettan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 01:02 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium | Europe
Posts: 441
Just found this video about the MXO2 on MacVideo.tv

MacVideo - Encoding - Features - Investigating Matrox MXO2
Ivan Snoeckx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 04:02 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Snoeckx View Post
Did you already see the new Matrox MXO2 Rack?
That's a neat idea, but WTF did they put the power cord in the front?! Smacks of bad/lazy engineering design to me, but that's just my opinion...
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 10:23 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
Yeah, I almost embarrassed to admit it, but I dismissed the MXO2 when I saw that the inputs are on one end and the outputs on the other. What a mess of wires that would make! So now they come out with a rack mount version and they put all the connections on the FRONT? What's up with the engineers at Matrox? Don't they know that the connections go on the rear and the blinky lights go on the front? I could see the benifit of a few connections on the front, but not all of them.

I guess if you had a rack with rails on both the front and the back, then it would be a good option.

I bought the AJA Io HD instead of the MOTU V4HD because the MOTU guys didn't have software to allow output from Adobe software to your monitor. For example, in AfterEffects I like to see what I'm working on output to my NTSC monitor to check color, etc.... You could hook up a consumer HDMI monitor or a full-blown HD-SDI monitor for this use.

I've been happy with the Io HD. Shop around for price. I was surprised at how cheaply we were able to purchase it. Way below list. Bought all the cables from Markertek. Great company to deal with. Everything has been working well since I installed it in January. I had some minor issues, but they all had to do with me learning to make the switch from SD to HD (XDCAM EX).

Good luck with what ever you decide to go with. :)
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 12:58 AM   #13
DVCreators.Net
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 888
The Matrox MXO2 Rack can be mounted with the connections facing the front or the rear Matrox MXO2 Rack - Rackmount form factor

I've been testing out the MXO2 in the studio for a few months now and even had the Matrox rep in to do a shoot direct to ProRes over HDSDI. Talk about "eating your own dog food."

We test what we sell and the Matrox MXO2 has survived the beating I've been lashing out. It's sitting side by side with a box with an AJA LHe and handling just as nice. It's cool having the additional HDMI out on the MXO2, I'm testing that with IKAN's new 17" - pretty snazzy 1920x1080 output.
__________________
Guy Cochran
DVinfo Sponsor, Cool Gear - DVeStore!
Guy Cochran is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network