Can not recognise HDD HELP!!!! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 20th, 2009, 08:22 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 358
Can not recognise HDD HELP!!!!

My new external hard drives cant be recognized by my mac

i get the message

Disk Insertion

The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer

Initialize ignore eject

what do i do it is supposed to be plug & play

the unit is

http://www.epowermac.com.au/shop/pc/...2-427p1198.htm

please help the shop is closed till monday

Rob
Robert Bec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 08:33 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
IGNORE!

Power everything down and try again.

If that doesn't work, power the computer up first, THEN the drive and see if that works. Every so often I get that error but usually with my iPod shuffle.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:08 PM   #3
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
If you're creating a RAID and it was never initialized then of course it won't be readable. You'll need to initialize it (format) it. Make sure how the hardware has been setup; is it a "hardware" RAID where the controller in the box is creating the RAID or are you doing it in software? This make a difference in how you'll have to format the drives.

If you're unsure how to do this, get the people you purchase the unit from on the phone and have them walk you through the process.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:25 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
My bad. I'm not sure what I was thinking. Robert of course is right. I missed the "new" and "RAID" discussion.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:47 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lane View Post
If you're creating a RAID and it was never initialized then of course it won't be readable. You'll need to initialize it (format) it. Make sure how the hardware has been setup; is it a "hardware" RAID where the controller in the box is creating the RAID or are you doing it in software? This make a difference in how you'll have to format the drives.

If you're unsure how to do this, get the people you purchase the unit from on the phone and have them walk you through the process.
the box is making the raid not the software in the computer

I have clicked on initialize and it is there all 935gig but what now
Robert Bec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 11:20 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 358
I fixed it

I clicked on erase and that was it verified it all ok

Transferiing some data to check if the raid 1 is working ok

40gigs in under 10min i think thats great
Robert Bec is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network