Packaging a FCP Project at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 2nd, 2009, 08:33 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Whidbey Is, WA
Posts: 326
Packaging a FCP Project

Is there anyway to package a FCP project to another drive so it will open on any computer, (like you can package a project in In Design) or do you have to find all the files that are on different drives, put them on one drive & then reconnect them.

Thanks
Chris

Visit our new site,
Breathe Deep Productions
__________________
www.breathedeepproductions.com
Chris Korrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 08:57 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
1) Select the sequence in the browser window
2) Use the File>Media Tools to copy everything associated with the project into a new location (make sure you use the Copy command and not the Move command)
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 09:02 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Whidbey Is, WA
Posts: 326
Thanks Mitchell,
Is this for only one sequence, or are/can all the sequences be exported (the entire project)?
__________________
www.breathedeepproductions.com
Chris Korrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 09:07 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
Yes

You can select one sequence and it will copy everything associated with the sequence (but leave those files that aren't)

Or you can select EVERYTHING in the browser and copy everything over.
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 09:10 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Whidbey Is, WA
Posts: 326
Thanks Much!
I'm going on the road for a while & want to be able to keep working.
__________________
www.breathedeepproductions.com
Chris Korrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 08:22 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Mitchell: have you used this personally and with how much success, given the discussion of Media Manager being more like Media Mangler? This would come in VERY handy for archiving a MASSIVE project (2TB+ of raw media) I'm approaching completion on.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 08:54 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
I've only used it a few time, but I've read/viewed numerous tutorials about it. Your comment is why I recommended NOT using the Move tool. When I used the Copy tool it worked great (I think that was back in FCP 5.0 or 5.5, I've never used it with 6.0)

Instead of using the Media Manager, I use this FCP work flow for creating/managing projects: (a number of other editors in the area use the same work flow)

1) Create/label a new client folder to store all my media on (video/graphics/audio/scratch disk, etc...). This resides on the RAID.

2) With in FCP I point the Scratch Disk to this folder (command+8)

3) Create a new project and save it on the Macintosh internal hard drive.

4) When I've finished with the project (and a few months have passed), I archive the folder created in Step-1 using Dantz Retrospect Backup software and then delete the folder from the RAID.

5) If I ever need to restore the project, I just copy the folder back onto the RAID and open the project folder that still resides on the Macintosh internal hard drive.

6) I use Leopard Time Machine to backup both the RAID and the Macintosh internal hard drive on an hourly basis.

I put the words archive and backup in bold because many people use them synonymously when they are actually very different.

Hope that makes sense. :)
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network