Mac Pro "enter power save" PROBLEM at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 4th, 2009, 07:12 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,868
Mac Pro "enter power save" PROBLEM

When ever I start my Mac Pro as of yesterday it goes into "power save mode" and the computer and monitors go to sleep. Yesterday I did a hard reboot and it was fine. Today after 4 hard reboots I can not stop it from happening.

What do I do to stop this from happening?

I have not done any updates in weeks since I am in the middle of a huge project.

It only gives me about 30 sec to 1 minute of working time then goes to sleep. When it is sleeping the power button blinks white and the screens go black. The screens give the message once it goes black in the little blue box saying "enter power save".

I am typing this on my Mac Book pro. Problem is I have a DVD for review to get out to a client today. Figures there is always a deadline.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2009, 07:28 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 522
Have you gone to your System Preferences/Energy Saver and confirmed that everything is set "Never". Also a permissions repair, followed by a safe boot to clear things out wouldn't hurt either.
__________________
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether you believe it or not." Neil deGrasse Tyson http://nautilusproductions.com
Rick L. Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2009, 07:34 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,868
Yes Rick I have checked the preferences and Energy Saver is never.

What is a permission repair? Also a safe boot to clear what out? Sorry both are new to me.

I have read on one forum that keep itunes on and you can work. So I have that now to start work. But if you could please explain the above that would be appreciated.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2009, 11:18 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 522
Permissions repair (like an oil change for your Mac)
Finder/Services/Disc Utility/Calculate Image Check Sum - Select your system drive and click Repair Permissions.

Safe Boot (cleans out your trash, cache files, etc.) and should be done regularly if you work with video.
Hold down Shift key during startup until asked for login info. Login and then restart.

These are the first steps in diagnosing and repairing any issue with a Mac. Also, it's best to keep other open applications to a minimum or better yet zero during editing.
__________________
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether you believe it or not." Neil deGrasse Tyson http://nautilusproductions.com
Rick L. Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2009, 12:17 PM   #5
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Paul,

There are a few things that could be causing this problem and it could be either the software environment or even hardware going bad.

First thing to do is download and run this free app that will address the maintenance items Rick is talking about and more:

Titanium Software

This is like a tune-up for your Mac software environment. Run *all* the cleaning and maintenance routines.

Next you should flash your PRAM; during boot (before you see the spinning wheel) hold down the OPTION-COMMAND and "P" and "R" buttons simlutaneously. This will clear out the PRAM and force the system to reboot. Continue to hold down these keys through 2 Mac startup "bongs".

If you're still having problems after that then it's time to drag out the disks that came with your machine and run the Apple Hardware Test and see if there's a problem with memory or mainboard.

If all else fails it's time for a trip to the Genius Bar.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2009, 12:35 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,868
Thanks Guys,

I will do what Rick suggested first since that does not involve new software.

One think in Check Sum there are two options:
(CRC-32)
(MD-5)
Not sure why but I have three internal hard drives. System 250GB and two internals 750GB each.

Which do I choose CRD - 32 or MD -5 or do I do both?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2009, 02:46 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,868
Well I did a test run on my Macbook Pro with the Permission repair on both Check Sum and then a Safe Boot. Big improvement in performance I will do the same on the Mac Pro once it is done backing up today.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2009, 03:31 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,868
All seems well on the Mac Pro. Boot worked normal and even a little faster.

thank you both
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2009, 08:08 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,868
Weird it worked well all day yesterday and I even shut it down a few times to check.

This morning it was booting up and the same message. Now no matter what I do it will not come out of sleep mode. Off - On and it will not stop blinking white on the power button.

Try only computer with no raid and same thing.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2009, 08:14 AM   #10
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Seems like a possible hardware issue. Take it to the Genius Bar.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2009, 11:04 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,868
Went to Genius Bar and some bad RAM. So we pulled the bad ram and I will replace once the new RAM arrives on warranty.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network