Mixing 24p & 60p at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2009, 10:24 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
Mixing 24p & 60p

Can I film a multi-cam prep and ceremony in 720-60p (for better slo-mo) and the reception in 720-24p (for the low light) then mix it together in FCP?
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2009, 11:32 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
To my understanding you can put both of these on a 30p timeline. I think you would also export at 30fps. I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will chime in.

JS
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2009, 12:58 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Dana: in order to get "better slo-mo" with 60P footage, you need to change the playback speed of the clip in Cinema Tools PRIOR to bringing it into FCP. If for example, you imported the 60P clip and placed it on a 24P timeline, it would not play back automatically in slo-mo. It would play back at it's actual speed and probably require rendering. If you applied a 40% Speed filter to it, FCP would double up frames as necessary to make it play back at 40% RATHER than using individual frames remapped.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2009, 04:58 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
So if I had, say, two clips that I wanted to slow-mo, I would film them in 60p, import them into a 30p timeline, then find and convert short clips from the capture file in Cinema Tools individually? So I wouldn't be using basic motion to do it.

It seems arduous, thought I can see how it would generate better slow-mos. Is it possible to jump from FCP to Cinema Tools with a particular clip?
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2009, 12:49 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
HMC150 with HMC70 - 1080i the only option?

New info: I just bought an HMC70.

The HMC70 only films in 1080i60. It's my static shot. Would you recommend this:

Outdoor Ceremony Multicam w/ slo-mo kiss:
HMC150: 1080p60
HMC150: 1080p60
HMC70: 1080i60

Dark Reception:
HMC150: 720-60p
HMC150: 720-60p
HMC70: Not used

What timeline settings should I use?
__________________
www.LegacyHDV.com
Weddings | Corporate | HMC150s | FCPX | Encore | Lion
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network