Creating a multi-screen in FCS at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 16th, 2009, 04:22 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 2
Creating a multi-screen in FCS

Hi all,
In my next edit I'm hoping to achieve an effect with the picture made up of dozens of 'screens' each playing their own bit of footage. It's an effect you see quite a lot in commercials and corporates, (hey, if it's a good idea, nick it!) but for the life of me I can't seem to find any tutorials on how to achieve the look.

The idea will be to have the boxes fly in to position in 3D, perhaps in the first case around 12, then the camera will pull out to reveal a wall made up of dozens of boxes. If anyone has any ideas on how to do this, cheats to achieve it or online tutorials, I'd be most grateful.
Thanks in advance...
Neil Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 04:57 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Posts: 1,538
Neil,

The essential understanding is that you place as many videos as you want on as many tracks as you need - one video per track - stacked up in a vertical column.

Essentially you're telling FCP to play all the screens at the same time. At this point you'll only see ONE picture since all the rest are functionally playing BEHIND the top track - which is "in front" of the lower tracks.

Then you go to the MOTION tab for each track starting with the top track and set the SCALE control to whatever size you need to place your multiple images on the screen. (Obviously if you choose 50% under scale, you'll get a quarter screen (half size in both horizontal and vertical dimensions) image and can place 4 on the screen without overlapping. 25% will get you 16 screens in a 4x4 grid.

If you have the IMAGE+WIREFRAME selected under the VIEW menu, you can simply drag the windows to their proper places.

To annimate their motion, you'll need to set keyframes in your Motion tabs.

The manual is pretty clear about this process.

Good luck.
Bill Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 05:12 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Topanga, CA
Posts: 139
...and it works quite well fwiw.
David McGiffert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2009, 02:51 AM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London UK
Posts: 2
Thanks David,
I don't think I made myself very clear in the first thread. I'm completely au fait with quad splits etc in FCP, however just after I posted last night, I realised I may have hit the language barrier - what I'm describing as a multi-screen, I think the rest of the world calls a video wall. Googled that and got lots of results about how to achieve what I'm after. And as I suspected, FCP is not the software to do it with. It's more likely gonna be Motion or After FX.
Apologies for any wasted time, although as I understand it, this thread is about non-linear editing on the mac in general and not specifically FCP...
Thanks for responding though.
Neil Weaver is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network