Help setting up external drive???s at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2009, 10:25 AM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago, Illinois USA
Posts: 645
Help setting up external drive???s


I am about to purchase my first gigantic external HD. LACIE D2 QUADRA V2.1 QUAD-INT 1TB.

My mac is a G5 1.8 with a FW 800 port on the back, and two 400 ports, one on the front and one in the back.

I am leaning toward using the FW800 for the Ext. HD. My first question is about formating the drive. I can't remember if it should be formatted as "journaled" or not. Do I need to really install Lacies software, or is it just plug and play?

And most importantly, I plan on capturing video from my Canon HV30 (AIC 1080/60).

Normally I plug the FW cable from camera to G5 computer in the front FW400 plug. But the LaCie instructions state that you can plug the camera via FW400 directly into the back of their hard drive. Is there any advantage/disadvantage to this? Would it even work?

Or do I capture as normal, through the G5's FW400 and point Final Cuts "capture scratch" prefs to the Lacie.

Also Sata boards don't seem to be all that costly. Any great advantage of that over FW 800, or should I save my money to go toward an HPX170 someday?

Your help as always appreciated.

Jonathan Levin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 12:35 PM   #2
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,123
LaCie is plug-in-play. Don't format external drives with Journaling turned on. Only use Journaling for your internal system drive.

EDIT: Don't forget to buy something like a Drobo to use for backing up your "gigantic external HD". It's nice to just turn on TimeMachine and forget about remembering to back up your stuff all the time. I'd buy a 2.0TB Drobo setup to run along side your 1TB LaCie......if you can afford it. :)
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 02:30 PM   #3
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,262
By all means use the Firewire 800 port on the Mac but remember on most Macs there is only one firewire bus shared by the connectors you speak of. If you have any Firewire 400 devices connected as well as the 800 device the bus will run at the 400 speed. If you want to run both types of Firewire devices get a Firewire 800 card installed so you will have a second Firewire bus which will let you run the 800 devices at 800 and the 400 devices. I did this recently for my dual PowerMac G5 and the difference was startling good. hth
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network