NLE Mac / Final Cut questions from 2003 - Page 42 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 15th, 2003, 05:34 PM   #616
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lakewood Colorado USA
Posts: 150
Try entering "Quicktime Pro" as the name (without the quotation marks).
edit: I see you've figured it out.

Also, I've been meaning to ask:

I am still using Quicktime 5 on OS 9, but QT 6 in OS X. Both are Quicktime Pro. Will the same QT 6 Pro password I have for OS X work for the OS 9 QT 6 Pro as well? I don't wanna upgrade if it won't.
Curtis T. Stoeber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2003, 09:58 AM   #617
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Angeles California USA
Posts: 64
Jeff,

I do have a new Mac. A quicksilver G4 867 Mhz with 1.5 GB of RAM.

I think this model can handel the big drives.

Thanks for the info :)
__________________
Thank you for sharing your world with
me.
William Velasquez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2003, 12:49 PM   #618
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 202
Not sure, but why not just try it? Worst that happens is it says no :)
Joe Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2003, 01:03 PM   #619
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 202
FCP4 Apple certified course in Vancouver

Anyone know who in town is offering this? The Apple website shows it as Vancouver Film School, but they tell me it isn't the Apple certified course
Joe Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2003, 04:53 PM   #620
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lakewood Colorado USA
Posts: 150
No, the worst that will happen is that it will say no and I'll have to find a way to "downgrade" back to Quicktime 5. Don't wanna waste my time.
Curtis T. Stoeber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2003, 10:14 PM   #621
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 23
Check out http://www.dvdrhelp.com/dvd for comparison.
Gayle Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2003, 01:16 AM   #622
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: L.A.
Posts: 57
Thank you :)
John Kaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2003, 12:01 PM   #623
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 357
Copying an iDVD DVD

I want to make another copy of a DVD I made in iDVD. I still have the original edited files but don't want to start from scratch.

Can disk copy do this? I'm still a relative newbie to the Mac and don't know all the ins and outs. If I can do this in disk copy how do I do it?

Note, this MY material. I'm not asking how to break copy protection or anything along those lines.
__________________
Jeff Price
Flickerflix Nature Videos
flickerflix@yahoo.com
Jeff Price is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2003, 12:24 PM   #624
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Waynesboro, PA
Posts: 648
Yes! Look here. http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=42724
Matt Stahley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2003, 01:17 PM   #625
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 357
Thanks. I checked this group and the yahoo iMovie archives but neglected to check the Apple site - silly me.
__________________
Jeff Price
Flickerflix Nature Videos
flickerflix@yahoo.com
Jeff Price is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2003, 03:51 PM   #626
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
If the input signal was not DV make sure it is DV when it is going
out. What resolution and framerate are you using? Print to tape
might require all sections to be rendered as well (unsure).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2003, 04:03 PM   #627
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 11
how do I ?

...it was Beta in...how do I make sure it is going out as DV? Everything is rendered...if you could tell me the exact setting to check I'd really appreciate it...I mean I've got a FW cable coming out of the G4 and it's running into the deck...I hate to sound dumber than I feel...but I don't know what else to check...

Thanks!

Chris
Chris Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2003, 04:04 PM   #628
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
What resolution and frame rate is the beta footage? What happens
if you play the timeline while you have your deck connected
and try recording then?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2003, 04:09 PM   #629
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 11
yep, tried that

Rob,

I tired playing it back out of the timeline...black...a little noise...but no picture...I captured Beta out using an Aurora Igniter card MJPEGA (thier codec) at 29.97 FPS...10 MBPS...I might be getting some of the terminology worng...I'm no tech, trust me...Apple said I should not run off FW drives...but that didn't work...really lost...
Chris Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2003, 04:27 PM   #630
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Keep in mind that 7200 rpm drives can get quite hot. My maxtor
drive is in a Maxtor enclosure that hopefully takes that into
account.

Personally I wouldn't go with 5400 drives. Yes they should be
able to sustain 3.6 MB/s for DV, but it feels a bit cramped to me.

SCSI drives are also available in 10000 rpm versions and faster
ones are on the horizon.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network