NLE Mac / Final Cut questions from 2003 - Page 57 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 13th, 2003, 04:04 PM   #841
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Get the G5, it will last longer - you can always buy more memory later.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2003, 10:11 PM   #842
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shelby Twp., MI
Posts: 112
is there still any place to buy a G4?

i noticed that apple took teh g4 off the website completly. would it be possible to get one from an apple retail store and if they had any left would they sell them at a discounted price?
Alfred Tomaszewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2003, 10:39 PM   #843
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 90
I saw them at Fry's Electronics in Fountain Valley, CA but I don't know if this is much help to you. They still seem to be avilable, however.
Sandy
Alexander McLeod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 06:09 AM   #844
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Many of the online retailers (B & H, Mac Mall, MacZone) and CompUSA has stock of g4's. If you live near an Apple Store you might check with them. The online store shows 3 models in stock on the web page and one refurbished ($999) model in the Special Deals section.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 06:21 AM   #845
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
It's no contest, G5. An iMac would be pretty slow.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 08:34 AM   #846
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Did you check the manual?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 11:25 AM   #847
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shelby Twp., MI
Posts: 112
color pass is an effect used in premier. in FCP it is called limiting effect on greyscale. it is in one of the manuals (the special effect one i think).
Alfred Tomaszewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 04:56 PM   #848
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Austin
Posts: 19
absolutely no contest. G5 all the way. and get a CRT monitor from compUSA or some place like that, and you can probably save another couple of hundred, or get a bigger monitor for the same price. And don't bother with the airport card. if you're living in a dorm, they probably have wired ethernet. of course, if you're living in a house with a few people, a wireless network card may be the best bet. So I guess just MAKE SURE you need the airport card. that money could be put towards more ram, or another hard drive.

But maaaaan I'm jealous! That's about what I paid for my G4, with a few bells and whistles, back in January.
Jim Shields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 05:00 PM   #849
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Power Outtages and our NLEs, etc.

With the huge power outtage up north and in Canada, what effects can it have on our NLEs, computers; etc.?

BAD! Without a UPS (Univeral Power Supply), you can lose EVERYTHING. Plus, they offer insurance if things DO get screwed up.

My two cents,

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 05:39 PM   #850
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: HB, CA - USA
Posts: 298
FCP 4 & Compressor

Hi Everyone.

Not sure if this post should go here or under the Web Thread, or both.



I am attempting to output a movie I made for the Muscular Dystrophy Assosciation to the web using FCP 4 and Compressor.

The settings I use render a large file size and pixelated footage.

I know video takes up a large chunk anyway, but there has got to be a way to compress the size and not degrade the video quality to much.

The output video size is 320 x 240. I would like to keep it that size if possible.

So, if anyone is using FCP4 & COMPRESSOR, can you share your trials and settings, esp. the custom ones, that work for you.

THANKS!
Aaron Rosen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 08:06 PM   #851
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Draw Solace From Exasperations 1:1

"Blessed be the pessimists, for they hath made backups." Exasperations 1:1.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 08:14 PM   #852
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Orleans - Metairie
Posts: 87
unplug

Just unplug after your system went down and DO NOT plug back in till the electrical system is stable and running for a day or two. You will be having brownouts and surges while the entire grid is brought back up online for a while. I placed a call into NY to my friend to let him know that I wanted my servers unplugged till the whole thing is stable and running ( I am in New Orleans ). Being a former electronics tech I am forecasting there will be a massive disaster on the computer and electronics front with this blackout as the electricity beging to flow again. The only way that things will be ok is to remove them from the grid completely untill it is stable. Bringing back a grid to full capacity is a time consuming and dificult process, it takes time to become reliable again. While you are waiting - be shooting some footage. Wait a couple days to plug your expensive equipment back in.

A UPS should be your first line of defense to get you down safely and cleanly unmounted. If you are not using one and not making backups, SHAME ON YOU.
__________________
Regards,
Kevin

--
Kevin Nardelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 08:23 PM   #853
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Great reply, Kevin! Do you think, when the power outage happened, that computers got fried, or is it more of when they start coming back up?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 08:27 PM   #854
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
It really depends on a variety of factors:

How did the power fail; hard or with lots of surges & sags.

What was the system doing when the power failed: was it doing disk writes (BAD).
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2003, 03:10 AM   #855
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
Mac Cataloguing Software

What's the best Mac program for cataloguing DV clips? I found FootTrack at the Apple site, but that's the only one. Any others?
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network