G5 1.6 ghz can't boot off DiskWarrior 3... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 30th, 2003, 05:26 PM   #1
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
G5 1.6 ghz can't boot off DiskWarrior 3...

I tried booting off my CD copy of DiskWarrior 3 on my G5 1.6 ghz, but couldn't. I've emailed Alsoft, but we all know that will take a day or two.

Any solutions out there?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 12:30 AM   #2
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
What actually happens when you hold that 'C' key down during the restart, Heath? Does the G5 just ignore it?
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 12:32 AM   #3
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
<<<-- Originally posted by Ken Tanaka : What actually happens when you hold that 'C' key down during the restart, Heath? Does the G5 just ignore it? -->>>

It stalls out with a folder/question mark.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 12:49 AM   #4
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Try holding the Option key down during restart instead of the C key. This should present a selection of drives, including the DW CD, from which you can instruct the Mac to boot.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 12:56 AM   #5
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
<<<-- Originally posted by Ken Tanaka : Try holding the Option key down during restart instead of the C key. This should present a selection of drives, including the DW CD, from which you can instruct the Mac to boot. -->>>

I'll give it a shot when this girl returns the CD to me on Friday.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 01:04 AM   #6
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The G5 needs OS 10.2.7 or newer. The DiskWarrior disk is probably 10.2.5. Alsoft should have an update or patch available.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 01:12 AM   #7
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
<<<-- Originally posted by Jeff Donald : The G5 needs OS 10.2.7 or newer. The DiskWarrior disk is probably 10.2.5. Alsoft should have an update or patch available. -->>>

Okay, so I'll download this patch(es) and it will indicate to the G5 to boot off the Disk Warrior disk, right?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 07:45 AM   #8
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
They may need to supply a new boot CD. It could also be a patch, that enables the OS to boot off an older version of the OS. Alsoft will have the answers.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 03:13 PM   #9
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Alsoft official word

From alsoft tech support (but it doesn't indicate if owners of Disk Warrior 3 are eligible for a free disk or how it works to get a copy):

"The current DiskWarrior CD will not start the new computers released by Apple.

When Apple releases new machines we normally have to release new CDs that will start these machines.

We are working closely with Apple to provide a compatible CD and hope to have it soon.

Once this CD is release we will make note of it on our web site.
While the DiskWarrior CD will not start the new machines the DiskWarrior application is perfectly safe and will rebuild the directory of the disk without a problem.

For the time being to run DiskWarrior on your new machine you will need to start the computer in Target Disk Mode, start the computer while holding the "T" key, connect it to another Mac with a FireWire port, and run DiskWarrior v3.0 from the other Mac."

heath

ps-I have a PowerBook, but how many others actually HAVE a second Mac?
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 05:01 PM   #10
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Any Mac (or external HD for that matter) with FireWire and an OS system file can boot your computer in target mode. Any friends with a current G4 Mac?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 05:10 PM   #11
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
How do you put an OS system file into an external hard drive? Just install Jaguar, like normal?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 05:39 PM   #12
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Got another email from Alsoft about replacing Disk Warrior 3 CDs with new discs.

"This CD will be a replacement CD for current DiskWarrior owners. We normally charge $12.95 plus shipping for replacement CDs."

More money...

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 09:32 PM   #13
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Yes, install Jaguar onto the FireWire Drive. Go to system preferences>startup disk and select the FireWire Drive as the startup disk. It may also produce the same flashing icon, not sure. If it does flash, Target Disk mode is the only way to use your existing disk.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network