DVCPro HD with FCE at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 4th, 2009, 01:56 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 233
DVCPro HD with FCE

I am surprised there are not any other posts that I could find dealing with this...

I have a client that does not have FCP, only FCE (no QTPro either) I handed over some DVCPro HD (720pn24) footage and he is unable to view it. He is in England, and I am in the USA, so that makes a simple transcoding and handing over new footage difficult.

1. For him to view the DVCPro HD footage he needs to simply purchase a QTPro license, right?

2. Once QTPro is purchased, will he also be able to view/edit the footage in final cut express?

He wants to do a very rough edit before taking the footage to his editor (who presumably has FCP)
Oddly enough I also gave him some ProRes stuff and he can view that... I thought that was a QTPro only thing as well...the reason I thought he'd be able to play DVCPro HD...blasted assumptions.
__________________
always learning
www.phillippalacios.com
Phillip Palacios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2009, 04:47 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 299
Quicktime pro is the way to go. Pro Res is a different beast in that Apple owns the codec and lets it out for free for everyone to view footage. I had the same issue too when trying to import some DVC Pro HD quicktimes into Avid. We ended up just getting the tapes sent to us and renting a deck instead. Not my budget but Quicktime Pro would of most likely worked except that the Quicktime Player version at the time was not certified to work with Avid.

P.S. I'm not too sure on FCE if it will leech off of the codecs Quicktime itself can support. Not sure how to check on that either.
James Brill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2009, 04:10 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 233
Didn't work

Blast! Qtpro did not work!
Any ideas? I think it's rediculous that Qtpro won't play dvcprohd files. Is this a fcs only codec? Would MPEG streamclip play it?
__________________
always learning
www.phillippalacios.com
Phillip Palacios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2009, 11:59 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 299
Negative. MPEG streamclip uses the quicktime engine. You should look into a program called Raylight that will let you play it back. Raylight Decoder, DVCProHD and DVCPro50 Quicktime Decoders for Windows
James Brill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2009, 08:22 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 233
Solved-Kind of.

James he is on a Mac, so no go for the windows decoder. I think he is just taking it to his post house now...

In further research, for anyone's information, the DVCPro decoder comes only in FCS. NOT FCE or QTPro. If you do not have FCS then you will need a third party decoder like the
Calibrated[Q] DVCPro Decode.
It is available as a demo and full license as well. I've never tried it, but I suggested it to my client as a possible solution, and it's fairly inexpensive.
I should have transcoded to ProRes from the beginning! Lesson learned when handing over footage to a non-editor client!

hope this helps someone else out!
p
__________________
always learning
www.phillippalacios.com
Phillip Palacios is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network