FCP 3 and render issues and audio settings at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 3rd, 2003, 04:13 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 60
FCP 3 and render issues and audio settings

I use Final Cut Pro 3.

When I move things around (like say a clip up or down) I have to re-render the entire sequence.

I noticed that this might be because the clips I was using were capture at 48 for audio, well the audio I was using to add music to the piece was at 44.1

Is this the reason for it?

If so, is there a way to capture audio at 48? I just imported it from iTunes?
Matthew Kaplan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2003, 04:27 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Run the audio through QT Pro first and change the frequency. That should do the trick.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2003, 05:15 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
If I take something from a CD I generally drop it into a sequence with no video, render it, then export as a FCP movie without a video track. Then I use the resulting file as the audio track in my final sequence. This accomplishes the same thing that Jeff suggests, but can all be done within FCP. Your choice, both methods should work fine.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2003, 05:17 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 60
So there is no way to capture it at 48 simply using itunes or the like?

I dont' own quicktime pro.
Matthew Kaplan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2003, 05:19 PM   #5
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
QT Pro comes with FCP 3, check your QT registration. Or follow Boyd's suggestion and render and export as a movie.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2003, 12:33 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Change your iTunes preferences to import and convert to 48khz AIFF at the same time.

As of FCP2 iTunes does a better conversion than FCP2.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2003, 05:51 AM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
In my opinion QT Pro does a much better job than iTunes.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2003, 03:20 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
I remember there was clearly an audible difference between FCP/Quicktime and iTunes converting from 44.1k wav to 48khz wav. You can hear it when there's clapping. It should be easy to compare the two, but I don't have a Mac right now.

One might also be faster.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2003, 04:14 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 60
Okay I found my QuickTime Pro key.

How do you import a song, and then change it's frequency?

I obviously new to Quicktime Pro.

thank you.
Matthew Kaplan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2003, 04:22 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
You can open the files in quicktime pro and then export.

In FCP you can do a batch export (multiple files) with file--> batch export.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2003, 05:09 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 60
I see about the export option, and see how to chance the frequency, but what should I export it as?

there are many choices? Which one is best to use with Final Cut Pro 3?

mp4 don't seem to be recongized by FCP 3 i've noticed.

Thank you.
Matthew Kaplan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2003, 05:52 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
AIFF or WAV format.

16bit stereo 48khz.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2003, 07:11 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 60
Thank you.
Matthew Kaplan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network