Apple/HDV editing stuff and links - Page 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 14th, 2004, 11:42 PM   #61
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Dom,

There are currently a bunch of free solutions that I've tried that don't work. You can also try another program that many had problems on, but others had success.

Lumiere HD is the only one I like for Apple, and I've tried almost all of them (except DVC's) and I really didn't like the freebie stuff.

We're NOT a big ad for Lumiere, it's just the best HDV "bridge" for Final Cut Pro editing out there right now.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2005, 08:18 AM   #62
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Heath, the link you'v posted above seems unavailable.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2005, 11:45 PM   #63
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Too many people logged onto that site, so it's shut down (as of late August 2005). To be honest, I like Final Cut Pro 5 the best.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 03:37 PM   #64
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
Hey, Heath, is dual 2.0 with 2 gig of memory and 2 400gb hard drives good enough or should I sacrifice some lighting equipment and get dual 2.3? I hear rumors also that there might be a slight bump sometime this month. Catch is, my student discount runs out in a couple of weeks.
thanx
Betsy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 03:48 PM   #65
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Betsy,

Oh yeah, that's just fine! You're ready to rock and roll, trust me! Buy a light kit instead of the dualie 2.3 ghz.

As for the rumors of speed bumps, check this out:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=49596

Of course, this thread is a sticky, so this info will be dated as time progresses.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 03:49 PM   #66
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
A new link:

www.apple.com/finalcut

There, you'll see the two Mac apps that cut HDV via the Apple Intermediate Codec (which isn't so popular on these boards and introduces artifacting), which are Final Cut Express HD and iMovie HD (part of iLife 05) and Final Cut Pro 5, which is a native HDV editor (both 1080i and 720p).

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 03:59 PM   #67
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 98
so....

save me from actually having to do the reading and digging through the thread :D

Can one capture, edit and put back out to tape HDV footage, using a G5 and FinalCutPro 5.0.2?
Alan Galbraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 04:12 PM   #68
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
Wow, Heath, thanks, so if my student discount runs out on the 14th of September and the reveal is on the 20th, is there any delay strategy I can employ? Like ordering and then--I don't know... also, re: artifacts and all that stuff, does the new full Final Cut 5 still have all those artifacts? Do I still need to get a third part app on top of all that stuff? Ay-yi-yi... maybe I can't get those lights after all...
Betsy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 04:29 PM   #69
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 98
ok, what reveal?
Alan Galbraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 10:55 PM   #70
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
That Apple may use the dual core chips IBM announced (two processors on one chip).

Betsy, you're fine right now, don't buy a new computer.

Yes, you can capture, edit and export to tape, all in native HDV, all in Final Cut Pro 5 (www.apple.com/finalcutpro)

No artifacts in FCP 5 editing, that's Final Cut Express HD and iMovie HD.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 11:10 PM   #71
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 98
danke mucho...

I'm in the hunt for a new Mac also...

BUT, I dont think can or will wait.

Got work to do now.

plus, just cuz new units are announced, doesnt mean that they will be on the market, or that the software will be re-written for them either...

risky wait, risky buy.
Alan Galbraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 11:19 PM   #72
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
No announcement yet, just rumors and speculation.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 11:36 PM   #73
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
Thanks Heath:) I haven't got the Dual 2 yet, maybe I'll wait a week just to see if any rumors come of anything. It's all so daunting.
Betsy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2005, 10:52 PM   #74
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West Palm Beach, FL USA
Posts: 2
multiple vtr's and fcp 5.02

I've been following this thread and it parallels a problem that I have been trying to overcome.

I have a G5 2x2, 2x23"HD CD, FCP 5.02, Sony M10U, and a JVC HM-DH4000U VHS player/recorder.
Both vtrs have iLink, and Apple Profiler sees them both.

Objective: using FCP to capture video from both vtrs.

So far I have not found the solution. However, I have discovered that Apple's Virtual DVHS and DVHScap control the JVC very nicely. Does anyone know if FCP supports DVHS codecs? And if so, what the settings might be?

The other side of the coin is finding a work around. My only thought here is to do a two-step: dump video from the JVC into the Sony; then use FCP to capture from the M10U.

FCP Wish List: ability to switch between multiple vtrs on the fly within FCP.

Jim Wicks
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
James Wicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2005, 10:56 PM   #75
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Welcome aboard, Jim. Glad to see an old friend here at the best videomaker/filmmaker, etc., community on the web!

I'll research your problem and see what I can do. I have the first JVC D-VHS deck, the 30000.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network