Apple/HDV editing stuff and links - Page 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 6th, 2005, 11:07 PM   #76
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West Palm Beach, FL USA
Posts: 2
Old Friends and D-VHS vtrs

Thanks Heath,
I looked at Apple's Virtual DVHS, DVHScap. Not quite what I am looking for.

I appreciate any help I can get to solve this.

Cheers,
__________________
James Wicks
www.wicksfilms.com
West Palm Beach, FL
James Wicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2005, 11:13 PM   #77
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 98
well, I went and got me a new Mac for home.
2.3Ghz, 2.5gig or ram, 300 gig firewire 800 drive

soon to have a Dell 24" LCD.

Ding DV right now, but HDV is on the horizon
Alan Galbraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 12:19 AM   #78
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kailua Kona, Hawaii
Posts: 4
Sending HDV to stockfootage company

I'm using an HC1 for u/w stuff, and a Mac Dual 867 G4 for editing(iMovie HD). I sent a hard drive to my stock-footage people, and it apparently was damaged in transit, so what are my options? If this is something you're familiar with, please be very specific with your answer/instructions. My geekiness is sorely lacking. Thanks a bunch.

Porter H Watson
TropicSea Visions
http://www.TropicSeaDive.com
Porter H Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 12:53 AM   #79
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Post this question here:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/forumdisplay.php?f=63

So more people will find it. Create a new post.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 01:35 PM   #80
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Silverthorne, CO
Posts: 36
FCStudio 2 Manual PDFs now online

http://www.apple.com/support/manuals/

(Thanks to James Culbertson of FCP-L for the link!)
Dick Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 01:06 AM   #81
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Flint/Davison MI
Posts: 37
Work Flow for FCS 2.0 and JVC GY HD110U?

I have been having issues using log and capture to aquire my footage from my camera. I am a nebie to the whole HDV scene and just purchased this camera 6 days ago...Does someone know a work flow that will let me get my footage? I have been shooting in 24P and 30P in HDV. Any advice appreciated!

-Steve
Stephen David Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 05:11 AM   #82
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
Well for one, and correct me if I'm wrong guys, Final Cut Studio 2 will let you do 24 and 30fps but Studio 1 will try to turn everything into the first thing you put in the timeline. Also, if you have Studio 1 use the JES Deinterlacer for dropdown 24p footage.
Betsy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 08:51 AM   #83
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Flint/Davison MI
Posts: 37
I get an error message that says it can't control the device...which is wierd because the camera runs fine when capturing in DV mode. The only thing I can think of is that I got this used at B & H photo and something was possible damaged from the previous owners...
Stephen David Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 12:59 PM   #84
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
Will it not even let you batch capture?
Betsy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 01:56 PM   #85
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Flint/Davison MI
Posts: 37
no batch capture either...
Stephen David Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 03:33 PM   #86
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 786
Hi Stephen.

Here is an old thread which gives various approaches to FCP workflows with the JVC Pro HD cameras prior to native support by FCP:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=70518

Also, it's always a good idea to re-check over your basics if you are having troubles with native capture, i.e. is your DV/HDV switch on the camera set to HDV? Did you do the Easy Setup in FCP for that particular frame rate in HDV? Etc., etc.
David Knaggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 09:32 PM   #87
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Flint/Davison MI
Posts: 37
I rebooted the camera and reset my easy setup and it works now...go figure! Thanks all for the help!
Stephen David Smith is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network