External Mic for voiceover at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 6th, 2009, 10:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
External Mic for voiceover

I know this is slightly in the wrong place, but I can't get the Apple Support forums to work right tonight, for some reason.

I'm trying to lay a voiceover track on a FC sequence. The on-board mic on my 24" iMac works fine, but I can't get any external mic to work when I plug it in even when it's selected. I'd hate to think I'm going to have to do it using the on-board mic. I've tried several mics (all preamped), including a wireless mic.

If I can't get it to work, I'm just going to record to my Z1U and capture it.
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 02:49 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
To use the voiceover in FCP you need to select the mike you are using in both the system prefs audio setup/input page and in the FCP voiceover tool itself. Check also in system prefs to be sure the input isn't muted, sometimes it "mutes" itself for reasons I can't fathom. You may need either a USB mike or an analog-to-usb adapter for a regular mike; we have not had great luck with regular mikes in the apple audio input --- either it is a conversion from xlr to miniplug issue, or the computer likes a little higher impedance mike, but we have gone to using USB mikes exclusively for this purpose....HTH // Battle Vaughan/miamiherald.com video team
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 03:27 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by Battle Vaughan View Post
To use the voiceover in FCP you need to select the mike you are using in both the system prefs audio setup/input page and in the FCP voiceover tool itself. Check also in system prefs to be sure the input isn't muted, sometimes it "mutes" itself for reasons I can't fathom. You may need either a USB mike or an analog-to-usb adapter for a regular mike; we have not had great luck with regular mikes in the apple audio input --- either it is a conversion from xlr to miniplug issue, or the computer likes a little higher impedance mike, but we have gone to using USB mikes exclusively for this purpose....HTH // Battle Vaughan/miamiherald.com video team
I've already discovered what you say to be true. Thanks. I owe you for taking the time to verify. If I can return the favor with any footage/audio from the Rocky Mountains, don't hesitate to ask. Charles mtntvguy@q.com
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:41 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Macs don't have a mic-in port. That's a line level input. If you run your mic into a mixer and plug in the mixer's line out into your Mac, it'll work fine.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 05:56 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
Les: (sad and log sigh, here) pray for us, we got some OLD macs....I was visualizing our laptops when I wrote that, thanks for clarifying! / B. Vaughan
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 09:31 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
I was wondering ... I've never known you to post misleading information. The universe is restored to its proper order now. Whew!
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 10:51 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
At least on a macbook, an me66 works from the line in port. Maybe becauese it's self powered.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 01:34 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
We use a Rode Podcaster which is a great microphone which connects to the USB port.
RØDE Microphones - Podcaster

Cheers

Nigel
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 08:34 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,940
I use voice over in final cut all the time and it is superb, a USB mic such as the podcaster should be fine for V/O work.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 11:04 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
Brian: Aha! We at one time were trying to use dynamic mikes --EV re50--and couldn't seem to get a decent level. So maybe the higher output from a condenser mike would work; thanks for the info!

Or we had mistaken the line port as being a mike input, as Les has pointed out. At any rate, our V/O mikes have been USB mikes since 2005 when we really got down to business, and they work really well. /B Vaughan
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 01:05 PM   #11
DVCreators.Net
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 888
A little MXL Mic Mate works well if you already have an existing XLR mic and just need a fast and easy way to convert XLR to USB. It's surprisingly clean for a $49 device. I watched a demo where they put it up against $1000+ systems and it held up astonishingly well. There is now a couple of models out for dynamic mics as well as Line level sources and a version with headphone out MXL USB Microphones
__________________
Guy Cochran
DVinfo Sponsor, Cool Gear - DVeStore!
Guy Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 07:50 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
Good info. Thanks again to all.
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 01:14 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 107
Kinda late but here goes. I use a Sennheiser MKH416 shotgun inside a Harlan Hogan Portabooth (DIY). The Mic is going into a Samson Zoom H4n that I use as a standalone recorder and on occasion as a pre-amp/mixer for input to my Macs via USB. This is the dream set up IMHO!
M. Paul El-Darwish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2009, 12:12 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 241
Push comes to shove you can always record into your camera.
__________________
www.marshallstaton.com
Marshall Staton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network