How do I convert mt2 to Quicktime within FCP 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 7th, 2009, 08:34 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,321
How do I convert mt2 to Quicktime within FCP 6

I have some mt2 files that were captured with Sony Vegas Pro 8 and are trying to import these into FCP 6. I have to convert theses files to a QuickTime format for FCP to read and import. Getting theses files into FCP has been a problem and the only way I have found is through Toast via the convert video files page. Is this the best or correct method to convert mt2 to QuickTime with a MBP? And is there any quality loss in this process.

Thanks
Simon Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 08:42 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 82
MPEG Streamclip

I don't know if you can in FCP, I've always used MPEG Streamclip, Squared 5 - MPEG Streamclip video converter for Mac and Windows
its an awesome tool, converts anything to anything...

good luck
Ryan Hansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 08:46 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,321
Thanks Ryan,
I'm downloading it now and have also found clipwrap which also I will try.
Simon Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 09:11 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon Ash View Post
And is there any quality loss in this process.
Hi Simon.

MPEG Streamclip WILL give you a quality loss because you have to transcode to a different codec.

ClipWrap will retain full quality because you are simply putting a QuickTime wrapper around the .m2t with no transcoding. You can then edit in a native timeline in FCP.

(ClipWrap recently added an extra feature where you can also have the option to transcode to a different codec, if you wish.)
David Knaggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 09:32 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,321
I have the demo of Clipwrap and this works a treat with no problems.

Cheers
Simon Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2009, 02:58 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 226
Yeah, Clipwrap is the best if you want to stay within the HDV format. But you can use MPEG Streamclip to transcode to ProRes, which is the same as capturing from the camera to ProRes (since FCP transcodes it on capture).

Since I don't have the dough for Clipwrap yet (yes, I'm that poor, haha), I used MPEG Streamclip to make temp second generation HDV .movs to edit my feature together, and when I'm ready for color correction and effects, will go back and transcode the needed .m2ts to ProRes HQ.
__________________
Canon EOS 7D, Final Cut Studio 2
Brandon Freeman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network