finalcutpro4 questions at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 1st, 2003, 01:10 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
finalcutpro4 questions

I have a lot of problems starting up. It takes far more time for it to "load' a project and so does "saving" it . Quitting takes also a long time and sometimes the timeline and other windows will dissapear but the spacebar with menu will stay for several seconds before a total quit. I have also had a few unexpected quits for no appearant reason. Something with the settings? It is a new project, so not a fcp3 project...
Computer is a 1.25 mhz single G4 processor running at OSX 10.2.6. with more then 1 gig of working power and a 9000 pro video card (it all came with the computer)
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2003, 01:18 PM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Have you repaired your permissions using the Boot CD?

Are you using FCP 3.0.4 for OS X?

Are you importing the project through the card or FireWire?

If the card what are you saving the file as?

When you drop the file in the timeline is there a redline on top or a greenline or none at all?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2003, 02:04 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
no three never gave me any problems. Its finalcut4. It gives me just problems, nothing to do with the card or ...what?
I imported the files the regular way through firewire, saved the project on the hard disc but it just is a slow starter, not just this project but also another one I am working on.
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2003, 03:01 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
When you drop the file in the timeline is there a redline on top or a greenline or none at all?

You Might have to repair your permissions using the Boot CD?

Whenever you install an update or even lots of application it's good to repair them.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2003, 03:08 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
That depends on whether i rendered it ...but i gues that is what you mean don't you? It is a new install, only installed program two weeks ago...and from the beginning it has been slow starting...
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2003, 03:33 PM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Do you have the Jaguar CD?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2003, 03:35 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
yes 10.2.6
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2003, 04:04 PM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Put the CD in Start it up holding down the "C" key you will see it starting up as you would be loading the software. From there go to the menu form the top left go to "Disk Utility" follow the instructions and this should clean up the some off the problems.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2003, 04:10 PM   #9
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
How many drives, what size, how full are they, are they partitioned and how are you capturing to them?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2003, 04:12 PM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Was going to get to that since you chimed in you got it from here.......

Later
  Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2003, 05:51 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
thanks fella's I am going to give that all a try. But it is going to be tomorrow night because its bedtime over here. Harddisk is not ful30% its a 120 gig jef. But I think the advise about the rendering might be the key issue here. I will try it!! greetings
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2003, 02:15 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
I think it had to do with the way the shots were rendered because when completely rendered startup time is considerable faster. I have heard however that FCP4.0 has a "bug" were files mysteriously increase in size...true or false?
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2003, 03:10 PM   #13
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It depends on your settings when you import them, as to bug not in my backyard have I heard of this. Some people as to the way they have set up their computer with their drives, OS X what version, to the cards that are installed.

My original question as to was there a green line or red line across the timeline would have told me that your settings are off or your card if you where using one was converting the file different as to what FCP liked. So you set your settings to configure with this.

As to your permissions I will ask this again to all that are out there to fix them once you do a major update or a major install of software. This is akin to running Nortonís but different, as the langue has changed.
  Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network