New Mac Pro 4,1 (Feb 2009) and FCP 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 11th, 2009, 03:52 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 81
New Mac Pro 4,1 (Feb 2009) and FCP 6

I noticed that on the new Mac Pros (seems like all models with both video cards) that they do not support high quality RT rendering with ProResHQ and 1920x1080 frame size. This works on all other intel macs (except Mini) and on my 2.5ghz dual G5. So its obviously a bug rather than a performance issue.

Has anyone else seen this problem?
James Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2009, 09:40 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Venturi View Post
I noticed that on the new Mac Pros (seems like all models with both video cards) that they do not support high quality RT rendering with ProResHQ and 1920x1080 frame size.
Where exactly did you notice this? Is this something your read or experienced first-hand? And what exactly do you mean by "do no support"?
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2009, 01:10 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 81
Problem

I've experienced it first hand on three separate Mac Pro 4,1 models. Two of the three were at the apple store.

Its a pretty simple problem. You can't preview the timeline in High quality in proresHQ at 1920x1080 (assuming you have non-standard footage in the sequence).

Apple said they are working on it. No answer of when they plan to fix it. Pretty serious bug though for a $6000 computer.
James Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2009, 01:25 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto ON Canada
Posts: 731
That's interesting. We just got one in for my station at work but haven't had a chance to really test it out. This news about the bug concerns me because I was planning on cutting our company demo reel this week and, since the replacement RAID is not in, was planning on cutting with ProRes instead of uncompressed 8-bit HD. However, chances are I won't be doing much in terms of filters/effects, any colour work would be done in Color... assuming there aren't any issues with ProRes and Color on the new Mac Pros! :-/
__________________
Mike Barber
"I'm laughing to stop myself from screaming."
Mike Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 06:59 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 81
ProRes

If your material is in Pro Res, then no problem. It is when you want to mix in other footage with other codecs that you have to render it to view it at high quality. We use Sony EX1, DVCPRO HD and ProResHQ all together.
James Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2009, 12:01 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
I don't see how it can be a problem of the new Mac Pros per se other than the fact that they have the new graphics cards ergo the problem is with the new graphics cards & this would be the same problem in the previous model Mac Pro with the new graphics cards & would go away if you dropped in one of the older graphics cards.

Do you have a link to some discussion of this in particular where Apple acknowledge the problem?

Cheers

Nigel
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2009, 06:46 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 81
It is definately a processor problem

A friend of mine has the same problem with an EFI-X based mac. The same issue happens with the 2.83Ghz and 3.0Ghz Intel Core2Quad, whereas the 2.66Ghz and below seem to work. The video card doesn't seem to make a difference. Apple on a tech support call seemed to say they would forward the issue to engineering and that was it.
James Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2009, 04:22 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 81
the issue

has anyone otherwise run into this issue?
James Venturi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network