Did I capture wrong? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 14th, 2009, 10:18 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,650
Did I capture wrong?

I'm just noticed that some of the progressive footage I captured (from an XL2) has some interlaced frames. It was shot 24p. I can't remember if it was regular or advanced, but I seem to have three frames of progressive footage followed by two frames of interlaced footage. Do I have to recapture? What should my setting be in Finalcut? I was under the impression that you just captured normally with progressive footage.
Marco Leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 11:17 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Healdsburg, California
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Leavitt View Post
I'm just noticed that some of the progressive footage I captured (from an XL2) has some interlaced frames. It was shot 24p. I can't remember if it was regular or advanced, but I seem to have three frames of progressive footage followed by two frames of interlaced footage. Do I have to recapture? What should my setting be in Finalcut? I was under the impression that you just captured normally with progressive footage.
I may be wrong since I haven't really worked with progressive, but I thought you need to set your captures settings to the Advanced 2:3:3:2 Removal.

-Jon
__________________
"Are we to go on record, sir, with our assertion that the 'pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars, and green clovers' are, in point of fact', magically delicious?"
- Walter Hollarhan before the House Subcommittee on Integrity in Advertising - May, 1974
Jonathan Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 11:22 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Healdsburg, California
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Jones View Post
I may be wrong since I haven't really worked with progressive, but I thought you need to set your captures settings to the Advanced 2:3:3:2 Removal.

-Jon
And I guess you also need to double check that you sequence settings match your capture settings.

-Jon
__________________
"Are we to go on record, sir, with our assertion that the 'pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars, and green clovers' are, in point of fact', magically delicious?"
- Walter Hollarhan before the House Subcommittee on Integrity in Advertising - May, 1974
Jonathan Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network