Memory will not release after closing software. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 30th, 2004, 08:14 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Memory will not release after closing software.

This used to happen on my PC lots but now after upgrading to 2 gigs, I need to fix this.

I need help badly. Called Apple Tech support and they do not know the problem.

ok here we go...

1.) I boot my Mac G5 and I have 1.70gig free. Which sounds right.

2.) I open Final Cut 4, I render a 5 minute video or what ever to make it use memory.

3.) I close FCP

4.) Activity monitor STILL says I am using the memory I was using when FCP was Open. No other programs open.

Any insite to this problem will be wonderful. Ofcouse restarting your computer every time you close a program is not very practical.
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 08:24 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Try reducing the ram to 1.5gb or less. How do you have your ram configured (how many sticks and what size)?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 11:51 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Thanks Jeff,

- 2 256 simms installed in 4 and 5 (factory).

- 2 256mb simms in 3 and 5.

- 2 512 simms installed in 2 and 7.

Still had issues before upgrading my 2 512's today. I just finaly want to figure this out.
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 12:28 AM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Are you actually running out of ram or is it just the software not updating the display of ram usage? Try opening a large file in Photoshop and do a couple of operations on the image (run a couple of filters). You should notice the computer slow down and hear a lot of disk operations (Photoshop will be forced to use your HD as virtual memory).
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 12:39 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Tried it just now. VM is not used unless I max over 2gigs.
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 12:46 AM   #6
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The software doesn't display the ram being released when you quit FCP. I just tried it on my PowerBook and I got the same results too. You can leave comments about the Mac OS here.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 01:11 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Thanks Jeff,

When you say "software". Are you meaning the Activity Monitor?
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 01:12 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Ok, so I'm taking it as a bug.
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 01:14 AM   #9
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Sorry, yes Activity Monitor does not reflect the correct state of memory usage after a program is quit. Activity Monitor should update the display, but it does not. You can report this to Apple at the link I provided.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 02:24 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glendale CA
Posts: 328
I assume you are using 10.3. If so, I wouldn't worry. I have noticed that 10.3 does not always update the amount of disk space a folder takes up when you add or delete a significant amount of contents to/from it, but everything still works. After a few minutes to an hour, the amount of space taken is updated. The way it deals with reporting RAM is probably similar.

Also, I'm no pro at dual channel memory (which is what is required on the G5), but isn't it best to have each pair of RAM together? For example, two 512MB sticks in slots 1 and 2, two 32MB sticks in 3 and 4, and two 96Terabyte sticks in 5 and 6 vs all over the place randomly like your setup? Also, you seem to have two sticks of RAM in the same slot. That might cause some problems. :)
Ted Springer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 02:28 AM   #11
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I noticed the system not updating folder sizes on 10.3, but on 10.3.2 it is corrected on my Powerbook and iMac. My G4 is still on 10.2.8 because of a lingering FCP project.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 10:10 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Yup, sure enough I am using 10.3. According to Apple, the chips are installed correctly. This bug must be reported to apple.
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 04:45 PM   #13
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Yeah, the slots are numbered weird, Ted. I saw the one at the school and I though it was installed wrong too.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2004, 11:10 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: chicago, ill
Posts: 190
Have you considered running another app in case there is multiple apps running in the background that are not being shown?

Are some apps that could help in finding out what’s up also they would help in running your system better as well.

MemoryStick

CHUD 3.0.4
Sharon Fraats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2004, 01:39 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Hey guys, a fellow member sent me a link to this little program for monitoring cpu and memory. It works terrific and is much more accurate then the Activity Monitor.

Check it out, you'll love it:
http://www.ragingmenace.com/software/menumeters/

It's called "MenuMeters"
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network