Not Enough Physical Memory??!?!?! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 11th, 2004, 09:39 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 51
Not Enough Physical Memory??!?!?!

Hey everyone,
I have a Dual 1.25Ghz G4 with 2GB of Ram & I get a message that says--

"The program you are tying to install requires 1024K of physical memory, which this machine does not have. Continue installing Yes or No?"

--whenever I try to install the software that came with my new Palm Tungsten E. Can anyone offer any info as to what this message means & whether or not I should ignore it?
__________________
If it's not one thing, it's another!!!
Erik Selakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2004, 09:44 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,273
What are you trying to install?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2004, 09:59 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 51
Hey Jeff,
I'm just trying to install the software that came with my Palm Tungsten E. It's just their Dektop Installer. I don't know if this helps but after I insert the CD i'm supposed to click on the Palm Desktop Installer icon & after doing that I get the message about not enough physical memory.
Any ideas?
I called Palm & they said it was a Hardware Issue.
__________________
If it's not one thing, it's another!!!
Erik Selakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2004, 10:06 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,273
You probably have too much memory installed and it is confusing the installer. Remove some ram and try to install the app. You may have to go below 1 GB to get it to work. Once installed you can re-install the ram
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2004, 10:11 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 51
Hey again Jeff,
Perhaps this is a dumb question but how can I have too much memory? I don't understand.
__________________
If it's not one thing, it's another!!!
Erik Selakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2004, 10:14 PM   #6
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,273
Some applications don't like to "see" more than 1GB of ram. They produce errors when they encounter this. This may not be the ultimate cause, but it's where I would start.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2004, 10:15 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 51
Ok. I'll give it a try & let you know. Thanks.
__________________
If it's not one thing, it's another!!!
Erik Selakoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2004, 11:12 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 51
Hey Jeff.
Thanks alot. That seems to have done it. Now I just need to learn how to use the thing.
Cheers,
Erik
__________________
If it's not one thing, it's another!!!
Erik Selakoff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network