What brand of memory/where to get? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 14th, 2004, 10:21 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: sacramento, california
Posts: 18
What brand of memory/where to get?

My DP 1.25 ghz G4 is extremely picky about memory. I've gone through Crucial and PNY, both sticks of memory have produced kernel panics in FCP.

It seems that the only time that cheap memory shows their defects for me is when I try and render something in FCP.

So, I was wondering, where do those of you with Powermacs get your memory? I don't want to pay premium for Apple memory, but if thats the only brand that can guarantee stability I guess I'll have to.

Thanks
Nik Hanselmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2004, 06:00 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 363
After you check any of the sponsors of DVInfo I will recommend

www.18004memory.com which is coast to coast memory.

I've bought from them for a few years and no only do they have good prices but they have good guarantees and unlike a lot of places they do a lot of Mac Memory so they actually know what they are talking about .

and they don't rape you on shipping either.
Kevin Burnfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2004, 07:02 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 581
Memory doesn't make any individual applications fail Memory is memory, a commodity item. If it works with your other programs and OS then FCP won't fail due to it.

More later, 'American Idol' is on :)
Rob Belics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2004, 12:46 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: sacramento, california
Posts: 18
<<<-- Originally posted by Rob Belics : Memory doesn't make any individual applications fail Memory is memory, a commodity item. If it works with your other programs and OS then FCP won't fail due to it.

More later, 'American Idol' is on :) -->>>

Well, I think FCP really puts the memory to the test. When I had my faulty memory installed, I couldn't render anything in FCP without a kernel panic. However, if I take the stick out, I can.

However, it's strange. I have no kernel panics with the memory unless I install FCP. Once installed, I get kernel panics in FCP and during other programs. While it happens randomly in other programs, I can replicate the KPs in FCP 100%.

All I know is that my computer works fine when I take that memory out.

I guess my MDD is just really finicky with the memory I put in. Thanks for the suggestion Kevin, I'll check them out.
Nik Hanselmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2004, 06:30 AM   #5
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Several programs, most notably FCP and Photoshop, are big memory hogs and make extensive use of it. Because they use huge chunks of memory it is more likely they will encounter a bad sector, if one exists. Most memory, if purchased from a reputable dealer, has a lifetime guarantee. I also use Coast to Coast for memory purchases.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2004, 07:55 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,315
Crucial sells memory made by Micron, which has always been amongst the best quality RAM you can buy. Having sold a variety of brands through a company I once used to assemble and sell computers for, we were often at the mercy of which manufacturer's memory we would get. Micron was always a sight for sore eyes, because of all the different chips we sold, these ones almost never came back.

Note the word 'almost' - nobody's perfect. Just make sure that you do handle your memory correctly. Never ever touch it with your bare hands or with anything other than an anti static bag or the package it comes in, unless one of your hands is either on an anti-static mat or touching the metal frame of your plugged in computer. You would not believe how much poor handling can damage RAM, or at the very least, reduce its life span by years. It is NOT a myth.
Imran Zaidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2004, 11:58 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 581
FCP may be using that memory because it's there. If it is bad then you'll get the fault. You could try and remove your other memory stick and put that one in as your only memory and see if you get a fault.

It doesn't matter how "hard" a program uses memory. All memory is accessed using the same timing mechanism whether it's accessing one byte or a million.
Rob Belics is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network