Adobe Premiere CS4 Mac - playback issue at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 23rd, 2009, 03:06 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 14
Adobe Premiere CS4 Mac - playback issue

Hi,

I just got Premiere CS4 for great interface and workflow on my latest loaded Macbook Pro 2.66 GHz. I'm having stuttering and choppy playback any .mov regardless which transcoders I use. I had to render it in Timeline to make it playback nicely but again I cannot get it to work in multi-cam monitor with any .mov file track. very frustrating. I tested same clips transcoded into .avi and it runs all 4 tracks perfect with multi-cam monitor on my old pc running Adobe Premiere Pro 2.

Apparently Premiere doesn't like Quicktime intermediate codecs. If this is the fact, that leaves me with no choices except not to use Premiere and go back to FCP. Any thought on this?

Jun
Jun Na is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2009, 07:15 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waltervillem OR
Posts: 10
If you want to edit on a Mac using Premiere CS4, you will need a more powerful computer.
Adobe Premiere's performance is very poor and it is more than ridiculous that Adobe thinks they can pass off this junk that they call Premiere CS4.

Even on my fairly quick MacPro I get stuttering video and crashes whenever I try to edit native avchd or even ProRes intermediate files. I also tried Avid's intermediate codec as well as Cineform Neo. No difference. Anything HD doesn't play or edit or encode using CS4.
Paul Rosco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2009, 12:23 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 14
I should have known the issue prior to purchase Premiere. I cannot even capture in quicktime with Premiere. It crashes if you want to chance capture setting to quicktime and it doesn't recognize SONY FX-1000. If I shoot in SD, there no way I can capture that with Premiere. That's ridiculous.

That leaves me no choice go back to FCP. Thanks!
Jun Na is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network