Mixing 1080i & 720p footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 10th, 2009, 12:01 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 253
Mixing 1080i & 720p footage

Forgive my ignorance here, and I should try before posting, but I don't have the 1080 footage captured yet.

I told my 2nd cameraman to shoot in HD on his Canon A1, while I shot with my Panny 150. I had no clue his camera would ONLY do 1080. I shot all my footage in 720/60p, and his was all 1080/60i. Will that create a big problem in editing, mixing this footage? Is there anything I can do ahead of time to help mix the two resolutions and frame rates?

I imagine I need to downrez his footage to 720, but how should I deal with his interlaced footage compared to my progressive footage?

Again, please excuse my ignorance. I have never edited an HD wedding before. And I don't have his footage yet because I need to borrow his camera to capture it. I imagine I can't capture HDV footage from a non-HDV camera.

Thanks!
Dan
Dan Shallenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 09:49 PM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Interlaced and progressive footage don't mix well together, they have completely different looks and often slightly different color spaces.

The easiest thing to do would be to convert your 1080i footage into 720p (de-interlacing during ingest) to make the footage match up in the timeline nicely.

It's always easier - and far better looking - to de-interlace "i" footage rather than force progressive into an interlaced format, which never looks good.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 09:52 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Edit in a 720P ProRes timeline. The 1080i footage should down-convert fine. You might need to apply a de-interlace filter on the 1080i footage. I mixed 720p30 and 1080i60 once for some extras on a DVD but the 1080 footage was shot in 30p so there was less to get messed up. Of course the end product was SD so any problems that might have occurred were smudged out by the drop in resolution.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2009, 11:17 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 253
Thanks for the replies! It seems simple enough then. If I just drop 1080i footage into my 720/60p timeline, will it convert to 720 automatically?

You know, I said I could test this because I didn't have his tapes with the 1080i footage. But, I can just shoot some 1080i clips with my 150 and drop it in fcp with some 720p clips and see what I can do.

Thanks for the tips!
Dan Shallenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2009, 01:03 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,321
I'm editing a time line with an EX1@ 1080i and p, EX1@ 720/50p and a Z1 @1080/50i
I have a Final cut Seq setup for 720/50p and at all seems to work.
Simon Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 03:30 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 352
Is you final output going to be progressive or interlaced? If it's interlaced I'd do everything in 1080i60. If it's progressive I'd do everything in 720p60. I mix 'i' and 'p' all the time on a show I work on ('bout 50/50) and I use an 'i' timeline mainly because the show delivers 'i'.


-Andrew
Andrew Kimery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 06:43 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 253
Final output will be progressive, so I'll work in 720p. I experimented with downrezing some 150 1080i footage and it worked out fine... especially when the final product will be SD.
Dan Shallenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 12:08 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 937
One nice part w/ FCP is that it is built to handle all these fun formats we have to deal with.

I second the thought that stay with whatever format you'll export to.

If you shot 24p or 30p I would suggest 1080p24 or 1080p30, but since you have 60p, then 720p footage will be your best bet. It won;t be perfect, but FCP should handle most of the messy background stuff.
__________________
Nothing says you're a serious video maker like S-VHS
Zach Love is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network