AVCHD to FC (I'm using Vegas, my client is learning FC) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 11th, 2009, 11:39 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Los Gatos, California
Posts: 109
AVCHD to FC (I'm using Vegas, my client is learning FC)

Hi all,

What is the best way to get files into FC if my camera shoots AVCHD and I use Vegas? Is Cineform the best option, and which version if so? Anything I have to keep in mind to make sure FC imports properly? There seem like lots of Cineform options.

Also, I did research and suggested my client try Mpeg Streamclip to convert to ProRes, but I don't use a Mac and she is learning FC.

So we're trying to get the AVCHD (and also smaller H264 renders I did) into FC so she can edit them, but it's been a pain in the ass. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

David H.
David Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2009, 04:05 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Hi David final cut 6.0.5 has a direct import plug in for AVCHD, if you are shooting on memory card or have the clips on a hard drive you go to Log and Transfer with the AVCHD source plugged in and it should automatically see the clips and load them into the viewer. You can them import them as pro res or apple intemediate codec, you can also select the audio preference too. Select which clips you want to import and off it goes, once into final cut as pro res you treat the clips as normal edit material.

Hope this helps, I have a small canon HF11 SDHC card camera and it imports with no problems I use USB to hook up the source for the clips.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2009, 06:54 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 166
As Gary says, just connect the camcorder via USB and do Log and Transfer. I always import as ProRes
Nick Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2009, 10:09 AM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
David,

Everything your client needs to know is in the built-in help manual for FCP; read this thread in which I posted exactly where to find the AVCHD "how to":

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/non-linea...avchd-fun.html
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 01:25 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Los Gatos, California
Posts: 109
Thanks for the help guys! I'll pass the info along to my client.
David Horwitz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network