Things I NEVER want FCP to do again - can I turn them off? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 24th, 2009, 11:05 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 817
Things I NEVER want FCP to do again - can I turn them off?

Hey all,

By and large I think FCP is well-designed, but it insists on doing some things are I hate, and I can't find the options to turn them off... can anyone help me on which ones I can change (and how)? And which ones I'm stuck with?

1. I NEVER want FCP to beep with un-rendered audio (a gimmer, because I know someone who turned that off once)

2. I NEVER want FCP to start playing at the start of a timeline when it's playing and hits the end of a timeline.

3. I NEVER want FCP to add a video cross fade just because I right-clicked to add an audio cross fade.

There are others I'm sure, but fixing these alone would greatly improve my quality of life.

Any one have other issues like this?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Barry Gribble
Integral Arts, IMDB
Barry Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 11:24 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
1. You got me on that one. Either I quickly render audio which takes no time these days or I make sure the imported audio track is one that FCP is friendly to (no mp3).

2. Turn off "Loop Playback" in the View menu

3. This doesn't happen if you right-click when the tracks are unlinked in the timeline. Try the keystokes: Option-Command-T
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 11:36 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Gribble View Post
3. I NEVER want FCP to add a video cross fade just because I right-clicked to add an audio cross fade.
This one more than any other PEEVES me! This was obviously implemented to appease people moving to FCP from consumer grade apps and ENRAGES me. ABSOLUTELY should be a user setting.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 11:50 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
As William has mentioned... Once you learn your keystrokes FCP does exactly what you want it to do, Quickly!
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 11:58 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
I KNOW my keystrokes. This should STILL be user selectable. I lock and unlock audio tracks constantly and this takes more time than right clicking on the video and audio track gaps separately.

FTR, this changed SOMEWHERE between FCP2 and FCP6 (yeah, I made THAT much of a jump).

I like being able to "lead" my audio manually and this causes issues with applying transitions to JUST the video track.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 01:46 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 817
I know a lot of my keystrokes as well, and exactly what I want it to do is cross fade my audio without cross fading my video even though they are linked. Certainly I know I can unlink them, add the cross fade, and then link them again - that that's not exactly what I want to do ;).

William - loop playback - great, thanks so much. Makes complete sense. Will try the Option-Command-T and see if it applies differently.

So OK - we are 1 (or 1.5) for 3 so far. No one knows how to kill the beeping for unrendered audio?

David? Keystrokes for that?
__________________
Barry Gribble
Integral Arts, IMDB
Barry Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 02:51 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Does changing Real Time Playback Tracks help? I can't remember... It comes STOCK at 8.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 03:04 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
Regarding beeping:

Under system settings, go to playback control--there is a checkbox there for "beep when playing unrendered audio".

And enjoy the silence.
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 03:13 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 817
Beautiful Charles - my hero, thanks.

BTW - contemplating a move out to LA. I have a pilot in the Independent Television Festival there the first week of August, so I'll be poking around some then. Would love to pick your brain on it.
__________________
Barry Gribble
Integral Arts, IMDB
Barry Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 05:15 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Papert View Post
Under system settings, go to playback control--there is a checkbox there for "beep when playing unrendered audio".
You know Charles, I've never ONCE seen that checkbox! THANKS!
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 02:33 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Gribble View Post
I know a lot of my keystrokes as well, and exactly what I want it to do is cross fade my audio without cross fading my video even though they are linked.
i made a large, a medium, and a small audio crossfade in my effect favorites, and just drag and drop the appropriate one onto the audio tracks. maybe not the smoothest work flow, but that could be said about most of my 'methods'...
Brian David Melnyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2009, 04:20 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
I absolutely HATE FCP switching to timeline/canvas after EVERY FRIKKING edit from Source. I just want to lay out basic pieces of footage to timeline, and I have to press Q every time after making an edit to timeline. Why is this not user-selectable in Prefs is beyond me.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network