Final Cut Studio Pro 1 and HM 700 footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 24th, 2009, 12:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Red Deer, Alberta
Posts: 215
Final Cut Studio Pro 1 and HM 700 footage

I shoot on the new JVC HM700 and I can view and edit my footage on my system. I did a shoot for another company who uses FCSP1 and he can't view or edit my footage. His operating system is Tiger, we have downloaded the newest version of quicktime. When the file opens in quicktime you get a white screen with tone for audio as the clip plays. The same thing happens in FCP. Any suggestions on what can be done? We have looked for plugins for both FCP and quicktime but nothing we have downloaded works. Thanks for your help in advance.
__________________
Calvin Bellows
www.exposureproductions.ca
Calvin Bellows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 12:42 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Does FCS1 (FCP5) use ProRes? I can't remember but your best bet is to transcode the files into this format for them. If FCP5 doesn't use ProRes then AIC is the way to go. Remember that these are much bigger files then the HDCAM-EX files the HM700 records.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 12:59 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
FCP5 is AIC, not ProRes as William suspects.

And the 700 records XDCam EX not HDCam EX. Darn slippery keyboards...
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2009, 01:39 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
"X", "H", Sony is confusing me again. I can't tell you how many times I've had to explain the difference between BetaSp, DigiBeta and BetaSX to clients.

The vague JVC technical specs page states,"With the included SxS media recorder, the GY-HM700UXT will record in the .MP4 format used by Sony's XDCAM EX™ onto high speed SxS memory cards." I guess I assumed wrong but JVC is very cagey about exactly what codec the QuickTime files are. I know it's a Sony HDCAM mpeg variant. If it be XDCAM EX, so be it. It works and that's great.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network