Help! Cleaner problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 30th, 2004, 04:26 PM   #1
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
Help! Cleaner problem

Anyone know why this would start happening?

I used the same output files that I've compressed through Cleaner several times before...all with clean results. I only went in and changed the final output size...and then this started happening and won't stop. No matter what changes I make, every compressed file is garbled.
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2004, 04:49 PM   #2
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
I don't really know. Have you used Cleaner since updating to OS 10.3? Just a wild idea that may have no merit.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2004, 04:54 PM   #3
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Addendum

I found this in the Discreet Cleaner 6 knowledgebase. Don't know if it's related.
Quote:
Question:
Why can't I use my Sorenson 3 Pro codec in cleaner 6 on the Macintosh OS 10.3?

Answer:
During the Panther (code name) pre-release testing, the Sorenson Video 3 Pro codec was not listed within the Apple QuickTime codec options, therefore cleaner was unable to access it.

This is a known issue with the Sorenson Video 3 Pro codec on the Mac OS 10.3 (Panther). Sorenson has provided a free upgrade in their Download section at: www.sorenson.com which addresses this issue.

If you require further technical assistance regarding this issue, please contact Sorenson directly.
Also this:
Quote:
Question:
Why do I get this error message: "This setting specifies a video setting that is not installed" when using cleaner 6 on Mac OS 10.3?

Answer:
If you have Sorenson Squeeze on your OS 10.3 with QuickTime 6.4:

You will need to install the Sorenson Squeeze update available in the Download section at: www.sorenson.com

Now go to the root of your hard drive in Library\QuickTime and delete the file called "Sorenson Video pro.qtx"

Download and install the Sorenson Video 3.1 to 3.3 update available in the Download section at: www.sorenson.com


NOTE: If you only have Sorenson Video 3 Pro Edition, follow steps 2 and 3 only (skip step 1)
It does seem that there are some kinks between Cleaner, Sorenson and OS 10.3.

Perhaps it's time for Ze Compressor?
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2004, 04:55 PM   #4
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
Ken,

Yep...was using it yesterday with no problems. Used the same preset even.
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2004, 05:15 PM   #5
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
Guess what? You're right.

I just realized that, by mistake, I've been using the default compression setting rather than the special Sorenson 3 preset I'd made. That's why they were all working, but today when I tried again with Sorenson 3, it didn't.

The default is Sorenson...and it looks fine.

Thanks, Ken!
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2004, 06:39 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glendale CA
Posts: 328

I have that problem all da time. I've posted about it here before I think. What you are doing is cropping and then changing the apsect of the file, right? Right? I knew it! It works fine in OS9. Also if your original file is some other codec other than DV that seems to help.

I can't even launch my Cleaner in 10.3.3. The same exact application still works great in OS9. I tried uninstalling it with the Cleaner installer and then reinstalling and it made zero difference. It asks for my administrator password each time and then claims it's wrong. So be careful before you upgrade to 10.3.3 John.
Ted Springer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2004, 07:07 PM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Ted and I discussed this three or four months ago. Cleaner has some known issues with Sorenson, and Compressor.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network