DVD Studio Pro Incompatibility problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 29th, 2009, 12:20 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Angers, France
Posts: 181
DVD Studio Pro Incompatibility problem

I have a DVD Studio Pro disc I have created and burnt successfully on my iMAC but when the client is viewing it on a PC using either Windows Media, Winamp or VLC Media player it is not working.

I shot the material with the Sony EX1 in 1080p and have created the SD DVD in PAL using DVD Studio Pro.

Any suggestions on where I might be going wrong?
Simon Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2009, 12:30 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 126
Does it play correctly in a standard DVD player? If so, then it's a computer software issue. Might need to upgrade the software.
Rick Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2009, 01:22 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
Did you test the DVD before you gave it to the client?
If so, how?
-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2009, 01:24 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Simon: your client should be using a software DVD player on the PC, NOT a media player such as the ones you've listed.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2009, 01:33 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Angers, France
Posts: 181
I guess my essential question is that creating a SD DVD via DVD Studio Pro should be able to be played cross platform. For example when I have bought a DVD from say Amazon this plays on my Mac, PC and DVD Player connected to the TV. I assume that creating a DVD as I have done should do the same.
Simon Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2009, 01:54 PM   #6
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Simon,

Contrary to what most think, Windows does NOT come with DVD playback software built-in. Your client needs to purchase DVD playback software that conforms to the standard ISO DVD image playback. VLC will not reliably play DVD content. You cannot guarantee playback on all devices no matter what you do because you can't control what software your end-users may or may not have.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2009, 03:59 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lane View Post
Contrary to what most think, Windows does NOT come with DVD playback software built-in.
It all depends what version of Windows you have Vista Home Premium & Vista Ultimate do come with DVD playback capability as does Windows XP Media Center.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lane View Post
Your client needs to purchase DVD playback software that conforms to the standard ISO DVD image playback.
Most manufacturers nowadays install a DVD player like WinDVD or PowerDVD so it is most likely that the Windows machine will be capable of playing a DVD.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lane View Post
VLC will not reliably play DVD content.
Modern versions of VLC on Windows play DVDs very reliably.

Notwithstanding all the above it should be double checked that the Windows PC really is capable of playing a DVD as even with the correct player & CODEC installed it may have some configuration problem that prevents playback.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2009, 07:39 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
INCREDIBLY STUPID QUESTION:
The computer in question DOES HAVE a DVD drive installed and not just a CD-Rom, right?

The ONLY reason I ask is because in my former 9 - 5 we reauthored a disc 4 times(!!!) before I asked the client to bring in the "offending" laptop, which turned out to have a CD-Rom drive in it.

I'm not kidding...
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 05:10 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Angers, France
Posts: 181
No question is too stupid.

Answer not sure. Since client is in another city.
Simon Duncan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network