HD to SD export process at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 22nd, 2009, 06:52 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scarborough Me
Posts: 186
HD to SD export process

Everything I have read, says to export from FCP as a apple pro res 422 file, then drag this into compressor and export as a best quality SD DVD setting. What is the reason for exporting as Pro Res first, and not just exporting with compressor as best quality DVD straight out of FCP?
I have read a lot of articles on it, and haven't heard of one person doing it through compressor first, and I wondered why.
Josh Swan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2009, 05:03 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,158
the exported prores clip can server for multiple outputs, and as a master archieve of the entire project. also FCP->compressor export is very slow, about 2X slower then the direct export. this again becomes a problem when making lots of different exports for web, DVD, ect.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network