HD to SD export process at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 22nd, 2009, 06:52 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scarborough Me
Posts: 186
HD to SD export process

Everything I have read, says to export from FCP as a apple pro res 422 file, then drag this into compressor and export as a best quality SD DVD setting. What is the reason for exporting as Pro Res first, and not just exporting with compressor as best quality DVD straight out of FCP?
I have read a lot of articles on it, and haven't heard of one person doing it through compressor first, and I wondered why.
Josh Swan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2009, 05:03 PM   #2
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,157
the exported prores clip can server for multiple outputs, and as a master archieve of the entire project. also FCP->compressor export is very slow, about 2X slower then the direct export. this again becomes a problem when making lots of different exports for web, DVD, ect.
Steve Oakley is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network