Working with ProRes 422 (Proxy) & FCP 6.0.6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 27th, 2009, 05:43 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
Working with ProRes 422 (Proxy) & FCP 6.0.6

One of the most exciting things with Studio 3 (imho) was the ability to use ProRes Proxy on my Wind Laptop (currently running 6.0.6). After creating the new Proxy files in Compressor I noticed that once I imported them into FCP - they weren't recognized as native clips (Red Render Line about Clips) on my wind.

Luckily, I knew that all FCP7 had done is create new codec component files (The green files noted below in the screenshot). These component files must be moved into your older FCP's system in order to work in Final Cut 6.

They are located in Macintosh HD> Library> QuickTime. Just copy these files over and reboot FCP and change your sequence setting to FCP Proxy (see attached screenshot).

Hope this helps.
-C
Attached Thumbnails
Working with ProRes 422 (Proxy) & FCP 6.0.6-new_pro-res_codec.png   Working with ProRes 422 (Proxy) & FCP 6.0.6-fcp_with_proxy.png  

Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2009, 04:05 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
Bear in mind that copying these codecs from one (licensed) installation to another (unlicensed installation) is not actually legal and breaks your FCS license agreement.
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2009, 12:08 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
So is installing OS X on non-apple Hardware. My Wind has it all so to speak. :)
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2009, 09:37 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
Heee ... I wasn't going to mention that bit Chris :-)
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 12:23 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Moab, UT
Posts: 264
Chris, what files are you converting to Proxy, and what codec do you export with when you've finished your edit? Do you lose anything in the downscale/upscale?
__________________
www.packcreekproductions.com
EX3, Mac Pro, FCP
Mike Chandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2009, 08:54 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Chandler View Post
Chris, what files are you converting to Proxy, and what codec do you export with when you've finished your edit? Do you lose anything in the downscale/upscale?
Whoops - Missed this.

Proxy is a native resolution codec - you don't loose anything in terms of spacial resolution or framerate. It all deals directly with data-rate to expedite editing.

My online workflow is simple. I make all my proxy clips offline and reconnect with the Pro-Res 422 HQ online clips. This of course necessitates that all renders, titles and plugin treatments be re-rendered. But that easy too- I just go into the project and delete all the render files.

Hope this helps,
-C

PS - Andy - I did get FCP Studio 3 installed on my wind but it refuses to EVEN playback proxy without rendering. So I went back to Studio 2. Also, I can still open FCP 7 files in FCP 6 by the XML export function (which I'm sure you're familiar with).
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network