Any workarounds to install Final Cut Studio 3 on an 07 MacBook? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 1st, 2009, 10:36 AM   #1
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Any workarounds to install Final Cut Studio 3 on an 07 MacBook?

I have a late 2007 MacBook model and I only want to install FCP 7, DVDSP 4.x, and Compressor 3.5 but it's saying it won't install because:

"Final Cut Studio Installer requires that your system have 128 MB of VRAM; this system has only 64 MB of VRAM."

Any workarounds to get around this?

Thanks,

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 12:06 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
Hi,
Not sure if this could work.. But just this morning I read about this piece of shareware software.. which allows you to install applications and to IGNORE system requirements.. Could possible work for you.. The software is called Pacifist
link here:

CharlesSoft - software you always wished someone would write
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 01:00 PM   #3
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
There's a reason why those requirements were indicated, and it's not a random thing.

All the FC suite of apps require a certain amount of GPU processing to work properly, not just for playback but even for rendering. This is especially important for any FxPlug filters which are 100% GPU rendered.

While it might be possible to side-step the requirements on a system with such rare resources don't expect any of the apps to actually perform properly, especially as noted above. In fact I doubt any FxPlug-based filter will even load and will most likely cause FCP to crash.

But you've got nothing to lose in trying the workaround. Let us know what happens with the hack!
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 01:14 PM   #4
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Thanks, guys.

@Robert: Oh I know about the system requirements issues on my little MacBook. FCS 2 loaded Color but I can't use it. When I reviewed the MXO 2, I had to use a friend's MBP just to get anything to work.

Gonna try in a bit.

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 01:51 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
Indeed. This is possible. Just extract and install.
-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 02:27 PM   #6
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
The requirements may be even greater than I thought... I called the Ft. Lauderdale Apple Store and they told me that a 13.3" MacBook Pro is fine. I did some research and realized that I wasn't sure if that was true or not.

A call to 800-MY-APPLE and the sales rep said that the minimum MBP we need is the 15" with a 2.66 GHz processor. That one costs $2000!

So now I have two answers. Here are the requirements:

Apple - Final Cut Studio - Tech Specs and System Requirements

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 02:29 PM   #7
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
And if you're like me and you have a Matrox MXO 2 with an ExpressCard/34 adapter, you'll need to get yourself the 17" model. Why, Apple why?!

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 02:31 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 993
There is another hack floating around where you trick the installer so you can install FCS 3 on a PPC system. I don't have one anymore so I can't test it.
Floris van Eck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 02:35 PM   #9
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Okay, sorry to keep posting here but I found this:

Apple - MacBook Pro - Technical specifications of the 13-inch.

I am now wondering if the 13" will work okay after all. It has an NVIDIA 9400M graphics processor. What do you all think?

I'd say I'm pretty much screwed with using the Matrox MXO 2 unless I get a Mac Pro or MBP 17".

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 03:13 PM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath McKnight View Post
A call to 800-MY-APPLE and the sales rep said that the minimum MBP we need is the 15" with a 2.66 GHz processor.
Hard to believe... does that mean it won't run acceptably on my 15" 2.4ghz dual MBP? Apple's specs only seem to call for an Intel CPU and don't specify the speed.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 03:37 PM   #11
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
After heavy research and talking to an engineer and sales person, we're okay on all MacBook Pros, 13" and up! BUT... the 2.66 GHz with the two graphics processors will give you that additional speed boost. And any MBP that is similar to it, like an older model.

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 10:39 PM   #12
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Well, Pacifist got FCP 7 and DVDSP to install, but neither open. It's giving me the "64MB of VRAM" failure. Looks like I'm getting a 13.3" MacBook Pro.

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2009, 02:28 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
Heath - Can you post a screen shot of error message? Is this the same message you get when you try to install from disc (less pacifist method)?
-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2009, 08:32 AM   #14
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Yes! I'll post an image of both. Pacifist helped me install it but I don't think anything can help me open it.

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2009, 08:35 AM   #15
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Here's the original install warning I got about the 64MB of VRAM I have and how I need 128MB.

Heath
Attached Thumbnails
Any workarounds to install Final Cut Studio 3 on an 07 MacBook?-fcs3_install_warning.jpg  
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network