NLE Mac / Final Cut questions from 2004 - Page 18 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2004, 10:19 PM   #256
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Roslyn Heights, NY
Posts: 50
FCP and DVD Studio Pro title questions

Well, the subject could be a tad misleading, but I don't think it is.

I filmed a wedding a little over 2 weeks ago, and I'm nearly ready to burn it onto DVD, using DVD Studio Pro 2. What the happy couple asked me to do, was, when the DVD is put in, and they wanted to play through the movie, the only title that would appear would be the first one. Saying something like So and so's wedding on this day...

Now, when what they also requested, which is the main reason I'm seeking advice, is when they go to the chapter selection page, when they select a chapter they want to watch, they want a title to appear, then the movie starting. So, my question, is how to I set it to do that?

I thought I had it figured out, but I don't remember anymore... I guess turning 20 really is old...

Anyways, would you be able to export all of the titles, 25 total (it's a lot, I know, but it's what was requested) and somehow put each titles before the video on the chapters page?

I'm looking for the easiest way, but I'm ok for doing things which take some time, but the end justifies the means.

Thanks again!
__________________
Ye who asks a question remains a
fool for five minutes, ye who does not
ask a question remains a fool
forever.
Joshua Cohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 12:30 AM   #257
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 540
Nice catch, Rob. I was thinking of the AIFF you can bring into SP2 rather than the PCM output. I still like the bit rate budget of AC3, even when it's just stereo.

Cheers
__________________
-- Vic Owen --
Vic Owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 05:49 AM   #258
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
If I remember correctly (and this is from long ago) AIFF is basically
just another form of PCM. So your authoring package is just
writing it to disc as PCM (probably) or perhaps recoding it to
MPEG audio. Keep in mind that PCM encoding is LOSSLESS, which
the other formats aren't and it can even go to 96 khz / 24 bit
if you want (only not with full surround then due to bitrates),
although not a lot of people have the audio equipment to hear
the difference with that.

So if you want maximum audio quality PCM is the best way to go,
but ofcourse AC3 and especially dts sound good as well.

If you want more technical details on the possible audio formats
and what frequencies etc. are supported see section 3.6.2 of the FAQ.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 11:55 AM   #259
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Roslyn Heights, NY
Posts: 50
Yes, the speed of scrolling text is varied by how long the clip is. I do not know of a way to input the speed you want it to travel at, I would just recommend playing with some of the controls, because there are a few options, but I found that it's a quick trial and error thing. It usually takes 2 times, maybe 3, to get the speed you want it to be at.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Ye who asks a question remains a
fool for five minutes, ye who does not
ask a question remains a fool
forever.
Joshua Cohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 05:01 PM   #260
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 202
i just like plain text. Plain text over video or on black. But then perhaps I just have no imagination....
__________________
Catalina Productions
http://www.catalina.co.nz
Joe Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2004, 06:56 PM   #261
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 540
Under your Tools drop-down menu, you can use Quickview to check up to a 10 second segment for speed. It's pretty handy and saves having to render the entire roll to check it.
__________________
-- Vic Owen --
Vic Owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2004, 05:47 AM   #262
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 107
I'll second that, Joe: I'v efound that if you can keep the text relatively simple, it's impossible for the guy at the VHS copy place to screw it up, or bad technical quality on a broadcast system to mess up.
Having said that, of course, I must add that a good technician can and does preserve quality on titling (no bleeds/jitters etc.)
__________________
First they laugh at you
Then they fight you
Then they negotiate with you
...Then you win!
Ram Nagarajan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2004, 05:23 AM   #263
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK, United States
Posts: 28
24p & FCE

I can't seem to find the final answer to this. Is there any way to shoot 24p and edit in FCE? Thanks, Grant
Grant McClintock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2004, 05:34 AM   #264
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I don't use FCE, but my understanding is that 24p can't be edited in FCE. You'll need to get FCP in order to edit 24p.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2004, 09:02 AM   #265
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA/Crete, Greece
Posts: 189
Emergency..plsease Help Asap

What is the best way to unmount my Lacie d2 Firewire External HD since my eMac (running OS 9.2.2) frooze and needs to be shut down. Could someone respond asap? I have two important projects on the Lacie and cannot afford to lose/damage them. Thanks.
__________________
Stelios G.M.

Stylianos Moschapidakis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2004, 09:29 AM   #266
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
I don't think there's a lot you can do other than shut your mac down if 9.2 has crashed. Generally speaking you should be OK from my experience. But I would go out immediately to a local store (like CompUSA perhaps) and get a copy of DiskWarrior. Then after re-booting the mac run DiskWarrior and have it check the drive before attempting to do anything with it. While you're at it, you might want to invest in another external drive and run a backup.

I had a crash during a backup between an internal and external drive (under 9.2) and to my horror both drives appeared to be trashed! Of course this was at 4:00 AM while finishing a huge project as well. I spent some nervous hours until I could get back with a copy of DiskWarrior. Happily it repaired the damage on the external drive, although the internal was never the same.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2004, 09:34 AM   #267
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA/Crete, Greece
Posts: 189
Boyd, thank you so much for your quick reply.

Should I unplug the Lacie before shutting down the eMac?
__________________
Stelios G.M.

Stylianos Moschapidakis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2004, 10:10 AM   #268
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
importing graphics help!!

I used a scanner to make some copy's of graphics out of a book. I plan to zoom and move over them to give them just that little bit more. But when I put them in the timeline they all of sudden have "lines" running downward and when I pan and zoom they show up because they start to interference like a tv monitor would do when you shoot it( or if you are filming a person with a shirt that the camera has problems with, you know what I mean?)
I have no idea what is causing this, the files are frame size 1639x1275 and photo JPEG,
I tried tiff files but no difference ...

I checked the manual and I saw that you need to import the grahics the size dv would like but I have no idea how to do that + I would like to zoom so they need to stay good when I get close( I use wireframe and resize the image the way I want)
Is this the proper way? and next what is wrong with the images to behave in such a way?
ps
Because I wanted to check the sequence settings I did that command but fcp then all of sudden quits on me, any suggestions?
__________________
D.Slingerland

director/cameraman

http://www.slingerlandproductions.nl
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2004, 12:18 PM   #269
Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 571
Hi David,

The images probably have a fine dot matrix in them if they are grayscale or tonal. This is a part of the printing process and will cause a moiré effect when combined with the grid system of a video image.

You can try slightly blurring the images in Photoshop before importing them to FCP.

I hope that's a help,
__________________
Daniel Kohl

Frankenstein meets XL1
Daniel Kohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2004, 01:47 PM   #270
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Just reboot the Mac. You should never unplug a mounted drive. If your machine is locked up, the drive can not be unmounted. Your drive will probably be OK, unless it is the source of the error.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network