NLE Mac / Final Cut questions from 2004 - Page 62 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 6th, 2004, 11:24 AM   #916
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 244
Just apply a Luma Key to the clip and tell it to key out anything brighter than the black silhouettes.
__________________
http://www.sleeptightmovie.com
Dave Frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2004, 11:25 AM   #917
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The the first post in this forum, at the top of the list of threads.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2004, 02:41 PM   #918
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 346
Upgradding to 10.3.x usually shows a performance _gain_ due to greater optimizations in the OS code. For me, it meant even my old PowerBook G3 333MHz is much more responsive as well as my DP 800MHz G4. The Journaled file system helps keep your boot drive running smoothly as well...
Mark Sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2004, 04:01 PM   #919
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 5
Brian,
You should check out the livefont ...Spotlight... in Livetype. You don't have tons of control but I think the effect is what you are looking for.
Jon Meester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2004, 07:25 PM   #920
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 28
Premier 6.5 export for IDVD

I cant seem to get the quicktime movies that I export from premier to retain the quality and proper field dominance when I import them to IDVD. I have the most recent version of IDVD and I also have Quick time pro with the MPEG 2 plug in,(even though I cant seem to locate it as an option). I have tried exporting as DV, DV stream, Annimation and video. I have my options set for best quality with the proper field dominance. When I play the rendered project in Premier I dont see these problems and I am playing them to an external TV monitor. Do I really have to export to tape and re import to IMOVIE for IDVD access?
Ryan McBride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2004, 07:49 PM   #921
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tx
Posts: 41
Sports Transitions for FCP

I have a wedding that I'm shooting for a pro baseball player and I'm also making their growing up/together montage. Do you guys know where I can find some baseball player transitions for fcp?

Basically it would be the silhouette of a baseball player throwing a ball or swinging a bat which would transition into the next picture. I don't normally use cheesy transitions, but this is what they have requested.

I think I have seen these before, but I'm not sure if they have them for fcp. Thanks!
Brandon Payte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2004, 12:18 AM   #922
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Parkland, Florida
Posts: 105
Speaking of cheesy... it sounds like you want those old Toast effects.
__________________
Camera: Panasonic DV953
PC: Apple Aluminum G4 Powerbook - 15 inch
Final Cut Pro 4 and other assorted goodies!
Rick Tugman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2004, 01:31 AM   #923
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 101
remove app and search for all .prefs (search for final cut in finder) and remove them relating to Final Cut. Reinstall software in default folder and follow *directions*.

In the mac world just always install in default folder that installer suggests. Almost ALWAYS Application folder. Dont try to move ANYTHING. ITS MADE that way so updates always know what to update. No such bull crap as a registry like in M$.

Enjoy FCPHD. Its a winner! Another trick when using a Mac is just to use it. Dont try to "tweak" it or customize anything. Just use the dam machine. ;-)

Joe
Joe Cirino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2004, 04:37 AM   #924
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA USA
Posts: 64
thanks, guys
__________________
Charlie Wu
Charlie Wu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2004, 06:50 AM   #925
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 84
My footage burned on -R DVD won't play on other players?

Is it because those players are older models and can't play them? Should I get an external DVD burner that burns both -R and +R for my Powerbook G4(1.25gHz) just to cover clients owning older DVD players?

I'm confused on whether +R has better compatibility or -R is better. Anyone have this issue before? Should I get the +/-R burner?
Joe Calalang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2004, 07:21 AM   #926
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The last compatibility list I saw still had the -R format with greater compatibility than +R DVD's. There can be many causes for DVD's not playing, such as media brand, burner it's burned on, burn speed, age and brand of player, software used to emulate hardware player on computers and much more. I've had the best luck burning with Maxell and most of the compatibility studies rank it at or near the top of such lists. Some older players, Toshiba in particular, I've had the most troubles with.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2004, 07:25 AM   #927
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Skokie, IL
Posts: 23
Rotoscoping in Final Cut Pro HD?

I've been reading up on lightsaber effects and from my search on the forums, usually only Adobe After Effects is being used for such an effect...
Johnny Chiang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2004, 06:21 PM   #928
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 346
Personally, I believe it is just crappy programming that makes this the way to go (leave defaults, don't install in another directory). But then, it also has to do with how the file system changed from OS 9 to OS 10. A lot of programs hard code that the path should be /Applications/Application Name which is pretty silly, but the way it is. OS 10 in general is more restrictive in terms of where you can put files. It is really easy to create folders with the wrong permissions, so be careful and you might want to put most of your editing files on a separate drive, OS 10 has much more flexibility for non-boot drives.
Mark Sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2004, 11:57 AM   #929
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 95
Thanks, this was the fix.


Ron
Ron Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2004, 11:59 AM   #930
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 95
FCP_iDVD question

I have a finished project in FCP 4. If I make a reference file when I export and dump reference file into iDVD. Will this work okay?


Ron
Ron Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network