NLE Mac / Final Cut questions from 2004 - Page 88 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 22nd, 2004, 11:51 AM   #1306
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Really?

Murph,
Lumiere HD website states that only FCP Pro is required (4.0)
for the plug-in to work.

I'm sure I'm missing something but have to make sure before I spend
so much money.

Thax again.
Tom
__________________
Tom Aellis
ONA Imaging Inc.
Martial Arts Photography By Martial Artists
ONA Large Format Printing
Tom Aellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2004, 12:47 PM   #1307
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
You mentioned the HD version, so that's what I thought you wanted to know about. If they say 4.0 then of course that's accurate.

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2004, 12:52 PM   #1308
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Thanks Tons

Thanks Murph.

So I am assuming that simply upgrading the the FCP HD ver from
my current FCP Pro is just not enough, correct?
Then I have to ask, what is the advantage of the HD ver over the
Pro ver is any?

Thanks again
__________________
Tom Aellis
ONA Imaging Inc.
Martial Arts Photography By Martial Artists
ONA Large Format Printing
Tom Aellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2004, 01:49 PM   #1309
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 346
Find out if they have a special rate for storing "fragile" cargo on their planes. Not sure if this particular airline does it, but many do. You have to pick up your "luggage" at a special terminal.

If not, I would wrap the box in another box with more popcorn to prevent punctures from getting to your computer and to absorb more shock. But overall, it should be fine unless they really abuse it. Can you insure it?
Mark Sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2004, 02:39 PM   #1310
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
What OS are you using and what hardware, ram etc?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2004, 02:59 PM   #1311
"I saw 'em" -- Hiwayne Suggs
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 52
G5
dual 2GHz processor
2.5 GB DDR SDRAM

os 10.3.5
Steve Mims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2004, 03:11 PM   #1312
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
It should be exactly the same as standard DV, but just check the anamorphic 16:9 checkbox.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2004, 06:55 PM   #1313
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 159
FCP: Exporting for pc playback?

Hi all

Wa trying to export a video clip today for playback on a pc. I found it almost impossible to get decent quality using a codec that windows would playback natively.

I used compressor but found that any of the codecs and compression schemes i used would not playback on pc (windows 2000) without attempting to download a codec (which failed)

I then used FCP itself using Export | Using Quicktime compression which was better but I'm still not sure which codec I should use to get max quality at a reduced resolution, say 320x200 at a small size.

Ideally I'd like to not have to download a codec on the pc as the people I give it to may not be connected to the net when viewing.

If anybody has good settings for a codec to use I'd be intrested in trying it out.
Many thanks
Donie
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.0Ghz and Canon XL2
Donie Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2004, 08:36 PM   #1314
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Quicktime:

sorenson3 for video. The codecs you pay for give much better quality.

audio:
mpeg4 is excellent, but requires QT6 instead of 5.
qdesign gives compression, but sounds bad.
IMA 4:1 is lossless in nearly all cases, but doesn't give much compression.

If you have space to burn, MPEG1 will give very good compatibility. Make a autorun.ini so it autoplays on PCs. Roxio Toast can do this I believe, or you could just create the file. check videohelp.com

If you have a PC, export a DV AVI to it (or print to tape and capture on PC). Use Windows Media Encoder (free). Excellent quality if you use the newer codecs, but those require a codec download.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2004, 02:34 AM   #1315
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: sevilla
Posts: 116
i don't know if i can insure it... but most of people say the box thing should do so i think you're right i might go for that and ask the company aabout this fragile item thing. thanks
Yohann Kouam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2004, 07:58 AM   #1316
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: FL.
Posts: 71
New Imac 1.6 vs Refub G5 1.6

I'm in the market for a new machine. My budget is tight so I'm leaning towards the refurb G5 but now i'm wondering if i shouldn't go the Imac route.

I'm striclty DV Cam/mini DV right now and I'll be using FCE but would probably upgrade to FCP sometime in the future.

How does the Imac compare to the regular G5 when running FCE, FCP, DVD Studio Pro?

Thanks for the comments.
Kevin Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2004, 11:55 AM   #1317
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 137
Go for the G5.
The iMac is good, but when you get into FCP, you want to be able to use firewire 800 drives. I don't believe you can put a card that will do this into an iMac. Also, if you want multi monitor functionality which makes your editing workspace twice as large, the iMac won't allow this either. Do yourself a favour, when it comes to crunching picture/video files, get the biggest, baddest machine you can afford.
__________________
Fisher Media Productions
Evan Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2004, 12:01 PM   #1318
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 137
Question Re: DV Compositing in FCP HD

With the 4:1:1 color space in DV, my composites have not exactly been perfect. I have read about some devices that supposedly upconvert or soften the DV image into a 4:2:2 colorspace but for this I would require and SDI capture card. Supposedly, Vegas and Avid have a codecs or filters that can help in this regard. Is there a filter or codec for FCP that can help make my comps cleaner?
__________________
Fisher Media Productions
Evan Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2004, 12:53 PM   #1319
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Dual processors is a big boost to productivity. Get the PowerMac if your budget can stand it. Refurbs offer a very good value and carry a full warranty. Apple Care is also available if your interested in a longer warranty.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2004, 06:38 PM   #1320
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
The tower will give you...
dual monitor video card (I think- might want to research this)
space for internal store. Internal drives are cheaper, faster, and more problem-free (a number of FCP users report dropped frames when capturing to firewire drives). Internal drives aren't that portable.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network