online vs. offline editing? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 24th, 2004, 03:53 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shelby Twp., MI
Posts: 112
online vs. offline editing?

What is the difference between online and offline editing?
__________________
Alfred Tomaszewski
(Scrambled Visual Entertainment)
Scrambled Visual
Alfred Tomaszewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2004, 06:36 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Full-blown editing systems cost a lot, so an offline edit is done on a cheaper system and then the edit is taken to the online system for finishing. Sometimes the offline edit is done at lower resolution for cost/performance reasons (it takes expensive equipment to edit at full quality).

With DV, full-blown editing systems do not cost much so the distinction is kind of blurred. But for other formats and more expensive systems you will see offline/online setups.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2004, 10:08 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shelby Twp., MI
Posts: 112
i was talking to someone who directs and edits music videos and he said he shoots on HD and then dubs to digibeta and dvcam. he uses the dvcam for offline editing. I just dont get why he does an offline with dvcam and then the online in digibeta. if digibeta is what the master is going to be on why would he waste time doing an offline edit on dvcam only to then edit the digibeta?
__________________
Alfred Tomaszewski
(Scrambled Visual Entertainment)
Scrambled Visual
Alfred Tomaszewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2004, 01:51 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
It's expensive to edit digibeta at full quality. A FCP DV system will run around $6k, a digibeta will run around ~$25k or so. FCP is one of the cheapest NLE systems around though and prices for NLEs have dropped dramatically so there's less incentive for online/offline now. If he edits on Avid a full blown uncompressed edit suite with SDI input is going to cost a lot.

His NLE can likely spit out an edit decision list for him to quickly transfer the project to the online suite. Then they apply color correction and special effects and whatever else they want. It saves money to do offline/online. Online suites run a few hundred dollars per hour while an offline suite is a fraction of that.

*My numbers are very rough and does not consider the base capital cost for everything else in an edit suite like real estate.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2004, 09:57 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shelby Twp., MI
Posts: 112
you can edit uncompressed digibeta in FCP cant you? you just need an SDI input like the Black Magic card and a digibeta deck. right?
__________________
Alfred Tomaszewski
(Scrambled Visual Entertainment)
Scrambled Visual
Alfred Tomaszewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2004, 03:39 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 74
I just started editing digibeta footage with that same system. It's a G5 dual 2ghz with blackmagic capture card, digideck running fcp4. Runs awesome, you'll also need to get a raid array as well because the ide drives don't have enough bandwidth to capture the digibeta footage.
Corey MacGregor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2004, 07:14 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shelby Twp., MI
Posts: 112
Corey where did you buy your blackmagic card and how much did it run? if you dont mind me asking.
__________________
Alfred Tomaszewski
(Scrambled Visual Entertainment)
Scrambled Visual
Alfred Tomaszewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 02:59 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
You can edit uncompressed digibeta in FCP cant you? you just need an SDI input like the Black Magic card and a digibeta deck. right?
Currently the price of all the computer stuff for an uncompressed system has come way down. $10k should do it.

BUT, the deck will run you $20k or so.

Anyways... what exactly are you trying to do?
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 08:40 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shelby Twp., MI
Posts: 112
edit music videos that my company shoots on film and HD. i am just trying to see if it is worth it to just rent an online suite to edit the digibeta or just to fork over some cold hard cash.
__________________
Alfred Tomaszewski
(Scrambled Visual Entertainment)
Scrambled Visual
Alfred Tomaszewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 09:03 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
ten to fifteen k will let you do it, but you would wind up renting the deck. Runs about $250 a day here in Houston.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network