powerbook and airport scanner. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 6th, 2004, 12:24 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shelby Twp., MI
Posts: 112
powerbook and airport scanner.

my friend has a powerbook g4 and put some third party ram in it before she went on a trip to Boston. The ram was installed right because when she went to "about this mac" it said that the new ram was installed (it said 512mb instead of the original factory installed 256mb). Both air ports refused a hand search on this (she brought it as a carry on). It worked when she got to Boston, but when she returned home from the airport the laptop wouldnt even turn on. She broght it to an apple store and they got the computer to turn on but wouldnt touch it because she had third party ram in it. The computer kept freezing and the "about this mac" only showed the original 256mb of ram. She didnt tell the store that it had been through an air port scanner twice and they blammed the ram and the hard drive, and told her to take the 3rd party ram out and send it to apple because the hard drive was messed up. My question is could the air port scanner have caused any of these problems?
__________________
Alfred Tomaszewski
(Scrambled Visual Entertainment)
Scrambled Visual
Alfred Tomaszewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2004, 06:03 AM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Very, very unlikely. I had an original 400 Ti PowerBook that was stolen recently, but it had probably been through airport scanners at least 50 times (post 9/11) with no ill effects.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2004, 07:24 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shelby Twp., MI
Posts: 112
so it was probably just bad ram?
__________________
Alfred Tomaszewski
(Scrambled Visual Entertainment)
Scrambled Visual
Alfred Tomaszewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2004, 08:19 AM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Bad ram, or a little rough handling on the recent trip, or a defect in manufacture that has become apparent. Not all defects show up on the initial power up. It's almost impossible to know until a qualified technician has a look inside.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2004, 04:28 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 148
Tell her to use proven third party ram.
Try www.crucial.com not any of the generic stuff.
__________________
Sony VX-1000
G5 1.8 dual
91 Turbo MR2
Ray Echevers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2004, 03:23 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 346
The newer versions of OSX are said to be much pickier about RAM. I was at the Apple store the other day to get an iPod fixed and this guy's 3rd party RAM worked fine for 3 months but was now causing the problems... (It could simply be how strict OSX is about timing to get better performance or something)
Mark Sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2004, 05:23 PM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
There is a key board command to disable the ram test at start-up, just hold down the mouse. The computer will start without performing the test.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network