4GB IMac & FCE4. A good start? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 14th, 2009, 09:05 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1
4GB IMac & FCE4. A good start?

I want a crash course in DV editing. Will a 4GB Imac and FCE4 be a good combination to learn with? (Assuming I've already decided on FC vs. other options).

I eventually want to make small documentaries, likely using a Canon HV30 or similar. Can I use this for a while while I cut my teeth and beyond?

Trying to maximize my $$. I don't want to afford the Pro series at present.

Thanks.
Dave Caliger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2009, 01:14 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Can't comment on FCE since I use FCP. But a newer iMac with 4GB should be just fine. I am editing HDV on a 3ghz iMac with 4GB memory and it's a real pleasure!
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network