Final Cut Pro 7 - Editing with VANC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 19th, 2009, 10:45 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 355
Final Cut Pro 7 - Editing with VANC

Recently upgraded to FCP7 primarily for the VANC support. Currently I have captured a movie with VANC Closed Captions. My problem is when I conform the movie the data in VANC shifts. Example: If I cut a 30 second scene out, the VANC data for the scene makes the remaining movie 30 seconds out of sync with the Closed Captions. Is there a way to edit the VANC data to reflect my audio and video changes? I do not have the original caption files, also re-captioning the movie is not an option. Where in the early stages of developing out workflow for FCP7 to edit Closed Captioning programs.

System:

MacPro Dual 2.66Ghz
4GB DDR
ATI 2600 Pro
AJA Kona 3 (6.55 NDD Driver)
Leopard 10.5.8

Thanks!
__________________
Jeff Zimmerman || DP and OP || Red Raven || 1DXII
www.m3films.com
Jeff Zimmerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2009, 12:56 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Zimmerman View Post
Recently upgraded to FCP7 primarily for the VANC support. Currently I have captured a movie with VANC Closed Captions. My problem is when I conform the movie the data in VANC shifts. Example: If I cut a 30 second scene out, the VANC data for the scene makes the remaining movie 30 seconds out of sync with the Closed Captions. Is there a way to edit the VANC data to reflect my audio and video changes? I do not have the original caption files, also re-captioning the movie is not an option. Where in the early stages of developing out workflow for FCP7 to edit Closed Captioning programs.
Hi Jeff,
MacCaption-HD Enterprise has a feature called "Assemble Captions" which was made specifically to address this issue. You export a XML edit decision list from Final Cut Pro and import that XML in MacCaption. MacCaption will decode the captions from your source clips, conforming them to match your edited sequence. You can then export a new caption track for any of the formats supported by MacCaption, including the track that AJA KONA cards use for HD captioning in FCP7.

At this time, MacCaption-HD Enterprise is the only way to do this automatically. The only alternative is to go back to the source of the captions and have them manually edit the captions to conform to the edits you've made, or re-do the whole caption job from scratch.

More Info: Assemble Captions feature

Hope this helps.
Jason Livingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2009, 02:11 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 355
Thanks Jason, this gets us going in the right direction. Our caption people do use MacCaption so this is a great solution for us.
__________________
Jeff Zimmerman || DP and OP || Red Raven || 1DXII
www.m3films.com
Jeff Zimmerman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network