Dropped frames when capturing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 2nd, 2004, 11:32 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Summit, NJ
Posts: 19
Dropped frames when capturing

First I'm still a neophyte regarding NLE and Apple. I've got a G5 2.0 with 1.5 GB Ram with an external hard drive. Here's my problem. I'm experiencing dropped frames when capturing. I've tried FCE and then iMovie with no success.

Following the direction in previous posts, I changed the preference regarding "dropped frames"..... I also might add that a friend shot the footage using his camera. When I have tried to view his tape, I notice what looks like large pixels appearing on the monitor.

Now I'm wondering if there was a tape or video head problem. Can anyone provide any assistance? Can I save the tape?

Thanks.

Steve
Steve Cohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2004, 11:41 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
You could try playing the tape on the camera it was shot on. That might help.

If you feed final cut bad signals, it will drop frames even if the computer is fine. You can check this by capturing from a good tape. If that capture works fine, then your friend's tape is bad.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2004, 12:07 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Yes, those "large pixels" sound like classic tape dropout problems. Like Glenn said, you may have better luck capturing using the same camera it was recorded on. The tape heads on that camera may be out of alignment such that it won't play correctly on other decks/cameras.

How long a segment are you trying to capture? I experience less problems when I limit my captures to shorter segments.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2004, 12:29 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Summit, NJ
Posts: 19
Thank you both. The segments are fairly short....less than a minute each. The total length is about 10 minutes. After the tape was shot, my friend tried to capture using iMovie and his video camera. That 's when we realized we had a problem.

Then I thought I'd give it a try to no avail. Now that my friend had is video camera heads cleaned and aligned, I have an awful feeling the 10 minutes he shot is lost?
Steve Cohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2004, 12:49 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Higher end decks may be able to cope with dropouts better.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2004, 02:13 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Summit, NJ
Posts: 19
Glen,

Thanks, I'll try that. Appreciate your help.
Steve Cohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2004, 12:32 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia, Rest of the World
Posts: 20
Images: 3
try to make a copy on a new tape
__________________
Coordinator Eurovision Asia-Pacific
Andre Bentlage is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network