Tone of FCP 4 URGENT!!! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 1st, 2004, 03:24 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
Tone of FCP 4 URGENT!!!

How do I create tone on FCP 4?
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2004, 03:30 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 389
There is a clip of color bars and tone under Effects > Video Generators. Is that what you're looking for?
__________________
Nicholi Brossia
Nicholi Brossia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2004, 04:23 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
I believe so..thank you
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2004, 05:16 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
wait I dont see anything under effects that says video generators
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2004, 05:24 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
When you get ready to do your output render, there is a screen of options that allow you to include a countdown, bars, and tone. I was doing a render back out to tape when these options showed up.

I was using a mac loaned to me to try out FCP so I don't remember the exact sequence to get you there, but IT IS there.

regards,

=gb=
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2004, 05:29 PM   #6
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
In FCP 4 and HD it is under File>Print to Video and is set up in the new window.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2004, 07:21 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Or else look in the browser window and click on the effects tab. Video Generators will be the name of one of the folders and bars and tone will be inside that.

For the tone to be useful you need to know what your audio reference level is. I can't remember offhand, but I think it defaults to -9dB which may not be appropriate for all projects. Read the section in the FCP manual about audio, it explains the importance of the reference level. Once you choose a level you can then open the audio track in the bars and tones and set it as needed. The manual does a very good job of explaining all this... if you don't have the hardcopy then there should be a PDF version somewhere in the FCP application folder, or on your install disks if all else fails.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2004, 07:27 PM   #8
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The manual is installed automatically and can be accessed by clicking on FCP Help.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network