capturing vhs and importing to fcp at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 12th, 2004, 08:19 PM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
capturing vhs and importing to fcp

hello,

i am trying to use the limited resources that i have to capture vhs footage from a vcr to my computer using my gl2. the footage will be edited in FCP and i am not sure how to go about capturing the vhs stuff.

any help?

thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2004, 09:07 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
Jerry,

unless you have something like an AJA IO to convert analog to digital, the simplest thing to do is to connect the VHS deck to the GL2 with an AV cable and record your VHS footage to a MiniDV tape then capture as usual with FCP.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2004, 09:08 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 42
you have a few options: Dub the VHS footage to DV [from the VHS VCR to the Camera], or if the Camera has inputs, run the audio and video through the camera and capture through firewire. Keep in mind that you will not have deck control using this option.

-paul.
Paul Figgiani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2004, 11:17 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
There are several moderately priced analog to digital convertors with FireWire out. Sony, Canopus and Dazzle are several that I can think of off hand.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2004, 12:45 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
A:
Go from VHS to mini-DV tape.
Then capture from that mini-DV tape.
The advantage is that you can easily recreate your project by re-capturing from the mini-DV tape with exact timecode (this is for archival).

B:
Go from VHS and use "capture now" in Final Cut. Check the time limit- you can disable it or set it to however long your VHS is.
Set your camcorder to convert from analog / A/V --> DV (not the other way around, which it can also do).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2004, 12:37 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
The Canon cameras don't allow for the video to passthru, so the VHS must be dubbed first.

Also, Avoid Dazzle like the plague. They just plain dont' work on a mac. The Canopus ADVC-100 is the most rock solid converter out there. $269.
Shane Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2004, 03:06 PM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I have a Dazzle at home that works with my Macs just fine and the school I teach at has several Dazzles that also work fine with the Macs.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2004, 10:25 PM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
sorry to bring this post back but i cannot for the life of me figure this out.


I have my gl2 with the AV in/out cords plugged into the television which is playing the vhs that i want to record and in the VCR mode of my camera nothing is happening, it is just blue.

I have tried putting the AV cords into the VCR deck and the back of the TV to no avail.

I am on a super tight deadline so I would really appreciate your help
  Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2004, 10:30 PM   #9
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Connect the AV cable to the VHS VCR video and audio Outputs and connect the other end of the cables to the video and audio inputs on your camera. Put the camera into the record mode (consult your owners manual to determine the proper buttons to push and the proper sequence.) Press play on the VHS VCR. Make sure the tape inserted into the camera is record enabled and the record tab is not in the wrong position.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2004, 10:57 PM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thanks for the prompt reply jeff.
unfortunately, i could not find anything in the gl2 owners manual about how to put it into record mode. do you use a gl2?
  Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network